04 Tahoe is way to smart - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2006, 09:08 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
04 Tahoe is way to smart

This is a new one on me guys. We just had a set of Nitto NT404's put on our Tahoe. Drove it home and within a short time got a tire pressure warning on the drivers information panel (DIC). I knew nothing was wrong with the new tires so I started digging in the owners manual. Seems each rim has a pressure sensor in it that not only reads pressure but communicates it's position on the vehicle to the vehicles computer. The guys at Discount tire did not install the rims back to their original position hence the warning. Now I must go through a ridiculous recalibration procedure so the computer can relearn the sensor positions.

Vince

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:30 PM
oldschoolrods's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Engine Compartment
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wow, now when someone says thank goodness your back tires werent on the front and your front werent on the back they are really not kidding
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:40 PM
1931 steve's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Michigan
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
By the year 2008 this will be standard on all makes and models, there is a tool out that resets the location and diagnosis of problems with this TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System) The tool from OTC is $500.00. So now lets see how many people will rotate their tires when a rotate will cost them $50.00 give or take a few bucks. People don't rotate their tires now at $10.00-15.00.

Just one more tool we have to buy to stay competitive.

Steve

Last edited by 1931 steve; 09-14-2006 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:51 PM
41willys's Avatar
Blowin' it
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Running again...
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Katy, Texas
Age: 39
Posts: 417
Wiki Edits: 11

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, and the only way it will stop is to put the sensors on the wheels.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:54 PM
1931 steve's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Michigan
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just hope they didn't bust the sensors!!!!

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:06 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
So guess what I will be doing this evening when I get off? Running around the wife's Tahoe like a monkey .

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:07 PM
Drive it Like u Stole it!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 40
Posts: 163
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i have an 05 nissan quest 3.5se with the tire pressure monitor system, and i dont need a special tool to reset anything when rotating? i can manuver through the menu items and have it self-calibrate itself. the sensor itself is inside where the tire mounts to the wheel....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:10 PM
1931 steve's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Michigan
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sel2real
i have an 05 nissan quest 3.5se with the tire pressure monitor system, and i dont need a special tool to reset anything when rotating? i can manuver through the menu items and have it self-calibrate itself. the sensor itself is inside where the tire mounts to the wheel....
Some can, some cant. The special tools make it much faster than going through the on board steps.

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:12 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The Tahoe procedure is as follows.

Key in on but engine not running

Turn headlamp switch off and on 4 times within 5 seconds and wait for the horn chirp indicating it's ready to be re-calibrated.

Go to left front tire and either raise or lower the tire pressure for 10 seconds and wait for the confirming horn chirp.

Continue on around the vehicle with above routine at each tire ending up at left rear.

Procedure complete.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:16 PM
1931 steve's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Michigan
Age: 42
Posts: 1,207
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That sounds like a lot of fun

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:43 PM
66ImpSS396's Avatar
It's been fun
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rossvagas Ga
Posts: 56
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
04 Ho

Toyota better hurry up and take over GM while there are still some people that will buy a GM product.

Former Gm Customer
BarryH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:21 PM
steve t's Avatar
ex biker, now hotrodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NC
Age: 64
Posts: 863
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what happens when you put custom rim on
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:43 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve t
what happens when you put custom rim on
You must remove the sensors from the stock rims and put them on your custom rims. They are part of the valve stem.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:55 PM
TailGater's Avatar
Blood, Sweat, and Gears!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Saint John, NB
Age: 32
Posts: 86
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302/Z28
You must remove the sensors from the stock rims and put them on your custom rims. They are part of the valve stem.

Vince
Valve stems must be cheap for that thing then
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:07 PM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sel2real
i have an 05 nissan quest 3.5se with the tire pressure monitor system, and i dont need a special tool to reset anything when rotating? i can manuver through the menu items and have it self-calibrate itself. the sensor itself is inside where the tire mounts to the wheel....
I have 32 , 34, ford and a 99 silverodo , I just take my portable air tank with a pressure gauge attached walk around check and set MY tires. Say does that fancy computer fill the tire or do you STILL have to use air?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1997 tahoe rehab parton2000 Introduce Yourself 1 06-26-2006 11:31 AM
97 tahoe in need of power seat transplant parton2000 Electrical 0 06-26-2006 12:57 AM
98 Tahoe to 68 Truck Earl E. Model Suspension - Brakes - Steering 5 02-06-2005 10:00 AM
1999 Tahoe 350 4x4 Steering Problem skyshield Introduce Yourself 6 11-22-2004 04:04 AM
96 Tahoe shut down...fuel? Sandflea427SS General Rodding Tech 8 01-23-2004 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.