06 Denali Limp Mode - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:12 AM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,377
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 445
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
06 Denali Limp Mode

I was out ( looking at a 73 Mustang) with my buddy Peter last weekend and his truck all of a sudden had a couple of engine lights come on and the truck went into limp mode. He pulled over ,turned it off for a bit and then started along OK after that.

When we got back to my place, we threw the scanner on it and got no codes even though the SES light was on.
Cleared the light and lasted 2 days. It keeps going into limp mode a couple times a day now.

GM can't find the problem w/o a trouble code coming up.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Pugsy

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2010, 10:26 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
what are you using to retrieve codes with?
also with you describing it going into "limp" mode (3rd gear only), kinda tells me that the trans is not getting power. a cycling of the key and it starting to work again, could indicate a bad ignition switch, which is quite common.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2010, 10:37 AM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,377
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 445
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
Whoops, I've heard of limp mode, wasn't exactly sure how it works.
He told me its not going above 2000 rpm's.
I'm using Auto Inginuity to scan.

I've heard of the ignition switch.
Perhaps we should start there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2010, 11:32 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,249
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 105
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
I've had my '09 Duramax go into reduced power mode when I had a bad injector. RPM's were limited, almost zero power and I was able to 'limp' to the dealer. Tried restarting twice, the last time at the dealer it would not start. This all started with gelled fuel from the cold. Got it thawed, some #1 fuel then the injector problem reared it 's head.

Why they go into limp mode I would like to know too.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 04:59 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 123pugsy
Whoops, I've heard of limp mode, wasn't exactly sure how it works.
He told me its not going above 2000 rpm's.
I'm using Auto Inginuity to scan.

I've heard of the ignition switch.
Perhaps we should start there?
i would recomend a snap-on or otc scanner. i have a feeling that the scanner being used is not able to retrieve stored codes. another thing is also, with what your describing, that its being checked for codes after its been shut off and that could wipe the code from current and that could be why its not getting any codes.
1 thing to check for when it happens is to check for power down at the trans, before buying parts. id hate to recomend buying anything until the cause is certain.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 06:49 AM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,377
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 445
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
Thanks.

What happens when they hook up the snap on and it doesn't show anything?
I believe the dealer has never had a handle on it.

So many possibilities , it boggles the mind.
Computer, ignition switch, wiring harness,.....

I'll tell him to get it scanned somewhere other than the dealer and see what they come up with.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2010, 10:22 AM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,377
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 445
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
My buddy just came into my office with a new symptom.
The left hand turn signal is malfunctioning and it works if he wiggles the key.
Looks like the ignition switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2010, 04:39 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
could be, if anything, it doesnt take a whole lot to investigate and take a look. the last one i did, you could clearly see the corrosion build up and see that the problem was in the switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2010, 04:50 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,377
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 445
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
Thanks.

He will get his mechanic to check it out.

Will post results later.

Pugsy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2010, 05:07 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,377
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 445
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
Well, he hasn't made it to the mechanic. Stubborn maybe.

I think he was waiting for it to happen on the way home which is right past my house. Happened today.

He pulled in and I retreived a code PO121 throttle pedal position/switch A circuit range/performance problem.

Also got a PO60e....undocumented trouble code description.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.
Pugsy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2010, 06:14 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 123pugsy
Well, he hasn't made it to the mechanic. Stubborn maybe.

I think he was waiting for it to happen on the way home which is right past my house. Happened today.

He pulled in and I retreived a code PO121 throttle pedal position/switch A circuit range/performance problem.

Also got a PO60e....undocumented trouble code description.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.
Pugsy
here i am thinking when you brought this up that it was a trans problem when you mentioned limp mode... lol
a P060e ive not seen, but anthing in the po600 area is a ecm or keep alive memory problem off the top of my head. a po121 indicates a tps problem, and with what i just re-read about the only getting 2000 rpms out of the motor tells me theres a problem with the accelerator pedal position switch as well,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2010, 08:17 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: il
Posts: 150
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't believe you can get the throttle sensor seperate, the gas pedal assembly will need replaced if so.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4L60E Limp Mode hardwurkindaddy Transmission - Rearend 4 11-14-2009 09:29 AM
guided mode pepi Off-Topic 1 02-11-2007 07:26 AM
4L80E diesel computer 5foot2 Transmission - Rearend 2 04-09-2005 12:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.