1 wire alternator ?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 347
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
1 wire alternator ??

So i did some research on them after i purchased one. I know how to wire it and all that. When i bought it my intention was to clean up the engine bay. Now i am seeing concerns about not getting enough voltage for lights and accessories. Is this true. I am hoping i can run a very short and heavy gauge wire and be ok. Lots of input and hopefully reassurance im doing the right thing is greatly appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wire size

generally, the wire size you'll need to the main buss is as follows:

Amps Wire Size
15 14
20 12
30 10
40 8
50 6
70 4
100 2

This will keep the wire from overheating, and prevent a serious voltage loss due to excessive resistance. You may want to run the charge wire directly to the battery, in the case of a 100 amp or better alternator. The sizes shown are for SUSTAINED loads.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lakeland FL
Age: 65
Posts: 4,110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
your question is not clear but any/all alt's do have a "ramp up" amps output per rpms...

so if it isn't spinning fast enough at idle due to pulley ratios it can cause a voltage drop with alot of accessories turned on...

or if the wiring harnesses/switches/connects/devices/etc are shot and grounds are bad causing to much resistance it can show a voltage drop at idle....

rephrase/clarify your question???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 03:22 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
One wire alternators belong on tractors, and other industrial equipment IMHO, not cars with lots of accessories.


Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:36 PM
kleen56's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Santa Clarita CA
Posts: 802
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
One wire alternators belong on tractors, and other industrial equipment IMHO, not cars with lots of accessories.


Vince
That's interesting??? I changed mine out on the 56 Ford truck because I hated looking at the voltage regulator and all the wiring going to it. I replaced it with a one wire GM alternator at 100 amps. I have not had a problem with any accessories so far. The only thing I don't care for is when I first start it, the alternator won't charge until I give it a good rev and bring the rpm's up, after that it will keep charging and works nicely. No fuss with the wiring either. Very simple application.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:05 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,144
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,331
Thanked 601 Times in 441 Posts
That's all I run on my car's,Never had a problem,Not one time..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:10 PM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
I have used 1 wire alternators for years and never had a problem either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 06:55 PM
V8 Biker
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Milpitas, California
Age: 55
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I Run 1 wire 140 amp Chrome Alternator

On our application of V8 Bikes and trikes, we usually run a 100amp 1 wire alt.
Most of the guys say 80 amps are enough for our application.
I run a 140 amp on mine, as I usually run PIAA 1400X FOG lamps all the time, headlamp all the time and running lights and reverse the fan in cold weather to blow hot engine air on me to thaw out my gonads. I have converted all the turnsignals, brake lights etc to LED's for less draw and more light. I dont have a problem with charging even if the 350 ZZ4 w/cam idles at 650rpm. We also run electric waterpump, electric fuel pump, smarttire tire pressure monitor and a small Odyssey PC680 battery for space savings.

Added the extra amps for cellphone charger, Muth Mirrors,(ones with LEDs in the mirrors) sequential turn signals in the license plate and heathed clothing leads.Also have 5 dash gauges and a Autogauge Monster Tach. Havent checked the amp draw out but I'm sure I'm not even close.

Have 55,000 miles on this setup, with HEI distributor and Quadrajet carb and is very reliable.

Cheers
Aldo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:15 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
1 wire vs 3 wire, the debate rages.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:45 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,144
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,331
Thanked 601 Times in 441 Posts
Sorry Vince.But they sound like they are trying to sell there harness.I never had any trouble with the one wire.That's what's good about this country.Everyone can make there own mind's up.To use what they like.I do believe that if it work,don't change it.Always worked fine for me.And you can pick one up at almost any parts house now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:26 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The reason I prefer a three wire is you can wire up a choke to it, you can wire up a light, you can get one at any auto parts store when your on the road. Early on in my build I came real close to going with a one wire. I made the decision to opt for availability and added features over aesthetics. As you stated....just one's choice.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lakeland FL
Age: 65
Posts: 4,110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
just a comment, food for thought:

what you give up with a one wire alt is the ability to tune the alt output volts using the external regulator voltage sensing wire resistance...
(you can fool the alt to put out more or less volts)

for batt charging safety, many one wire alt's are set/fixed at only about 13.4V(?) output...

"if" you do have ohms resistance or amps overload on the harness there may only be 12V at the dist at idle,,,

got 13.2V at the dist at idle with a one wire alt due to all new $XXX wiring harnesses your fine...

for best spark quality, new cars do deliver 14.4V to the dist at idle to work with the bigger plug gaps ...

which method to choose depends on what your working on and for what purpose,,,cruiser only or race only...

Last edited by red65mustang; 02-17-2009 at 08:10 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chillicothe oh
Age: 47
Posts: 1,445
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is one of those times when all you got to do is look at the oem, They used the external sensing wire and field feed for a reason.Many use one wires and love em but it is so simple to wire a delco alt like the oem why bother ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2009, 03:15 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,144
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,331
Thanked 601 Times in 441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnym17
This is one of those times when all you got to do is look at the oem, They used the external sensing wire and field feed for a reason.Many use one wires and love em but it is so simple to wire a delco alt like the oem why bother ?

Why .... I try to keep my engine area very clean and neat.I only have to worry about one wire.And it's very easy to hide one wire.Why have a bunch of wire's when you don't need them.That's just me.I like to look under the hood and see a motor,Not a big bird nest!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2009, 06:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 347
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey New Interiors, I am the same way with the engine bay which is why i am going to try it out. I will not have many accessories to run. Here is the list.

Elec fuel pump
Head and tail lights
HEI dizzy
Elec choke
Guages But maybe mechanical I havent decided yet.
Maybe wipers if i get caught in the rain.

There will be no heater or radio or any other frills. When everything else is done and I am totally happy with everything I will switch to LED tail and brake lights. I am even thinking of shaving off the side marker lights for a clean stealthy look.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternator excitor wire voltage guba_unus Electrical 9 05-01-2008 04:30 PM
3 wire alternator hookup GCD1962 Electrical 10 04-21-2008 08:29 PM
One Wire Alternator?? budthespud Electrical 9 11-24-2007 08:06 AM
Wiring a 1 wire alternator and starter 71novactb Electrical 7 02-09-2007 09:14 PM
alternator wire hanging in mid air?! pcoghlan Electrical 11 03-21-2006 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.