1 wire alternator no operation - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2014, 08:11 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

1 wire alternator no operation

I have a powermaster 1 wire alternator that apparently is not working, I just installed it with a set of underdrive pullies on my big block chevy, the thing is just barely putting out 12 volts even when I rev it up, I load tested my wiring an all, there shipping me a new alternator this week, but im just wondering if anyone out there has had a problem like this or even heard of a powermaster alternator being bum out of the box?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-09-2014, 10:44 PM
www.krusinklassics.net

Last photo:

Powermaster is garbage. I've been thru a few of them in a couple of year's time and they love to burn up. Smell really nice too! The ones I've used are a polished manufactured case with the guts from a 12SI GM unit. They rate them at 100+ amps. Well, my last one burned up really good and I had to replace the stator, rectifier and regulator. The problem is that they try to pack high output stuff into a case that doesn't have enough cooling vents. I'll run this one until it burns up again and then replace the unit with the GM CS130 style. Much more rugged.
Old 06-09-2014, 10:48 PM

Last journal entry: New Rev wheels and BFG KDW II tires
Last photo:

What I don't get with the Powermaster alternators is they use the case and fan from a 10si but call it a 12si.

Why would they want to bump up the power output on an alternator and not use the improved cooling of the 12si?
Old 06-09-2014, 11:00 PM