Hot Rod Forum banner

10 bolt GM Rear End Rebuild

15K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  big gear head 
#1 ·
I picked up a cheap 10 bolt GM rear with the series 2 carrier & 2.56 gears. I don't want to spend the money on a new differential, but just an open carrier, swap out the parts and install a set of 3.73 gears. I've done gear swaps before without problems, but never messed much with the differentials. The clutches look OK but I'm not an expert on this. They still have most of the swirl patterns in them though and the spider gears look fine.

I can't find too much on the internet as far as doing this work. Is there any clearances I need to be concerned with? I see there are shims behind the clutches.

The rear is going in a 56 Chevy pickup with a GM crate motor & 200r4, primarily to be used for street cruising.

Thanks,
Ken

#3 ·
I was planning on purchasing a series 3 bare carrier case & using my internal posi parts from the series 2 case so I get the gears I want. The Powertrax system looks nice but is almost as expensive as an Eaton or Auburn setup, but I don't think I need that much in the rear for my setup. A stock posi should be fine.

#8 ·
The 3 series case that Summit has is going to be a standard differential case. What you have in the Trans Am rear end is a Traction Lock differential, which is a limited slip (posi) differential. The parts in the TL will not fit in the standard differential case. There are no slots for the tabs on the clutch plates and there will not be enough room in the case for the clutches. The TL cases are no longer being produced. You will have to find a used 3 series case with the casting number 410408 (your 2 series will be 410409) to use your internal parts. If you can find a 3 series TL with broken gears then you will have what you need.