Hot Rod Forum banner

111w bobbin case jammed

5K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  John long 
#1 ·
Hi guys,
Newbie here with the bobbin case tale of woe. I recently started reading this site in exploring what machine to use for doing some car interior and also boat cushions and sail covers etc. I just got a Singer 111W153 locally from an upholstery shop and it seemed to be in great shape 'til I got a hold of it. I was able to use it to sew several practice items using some bonded polyester 69 thread, but when that ran out I used some unbonded nylon that soon jammed under the bobbin case.
From reading the threads from Dan on how to take out the bobbin case, I now know what to do. The problem is the screws appear to not have been removed in the 60 odd years the machine has been around. I am using a new set of precision screw drivers but the two screws on the retaining plate won't budge. I don't want to strip the slots. Any tips on how to remove them?

#2 ·
some thoughts

Came back to check on the thread, and realized that I am essentially asking How do I unscrew a screw. But my concern is that I assume that the bobbin case assembly is hardened and that if I mar the screw slots on the screws in the retainer plate, then I am in deep somethin'. I read Dan's threads to Danios and Elleka on the same thread jam under the case problem and they were incredibly helpful.
The issue is ; How do I loosen these little screws? I have soaked them in penetrating oil, and tried a screw driver held and turned with a mini wrench (gently). If it were a rusted bolt I would apply heat, so I thought about pressing a soldering iron to it . But I don't want to draw the temper on the parts, right? What would the sewing machine mechanic do in this situation?
Should I consider removing the hook assembly and work on the bench with it ... and if I do will it mess up the timing?

#5 ·