Hot Rod Forum banner

1480 u-joint 6000rpm problem

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  cerial 
#1 · (Edited)
I have been piecing together a hot rod for a few years now and am having a bit of a problem that hopefully I can get some advise on.
The car is going to be a tube built monocoque chassis in a mid engine rear wheel drive setup.
Instead of using the traditional(and costly) transverse transmission I have decided to go more low tech and heavier setup which gives me more ratios and cheaper easier to find parts.

The drive line goes like this,
76 500 Cadillac to a sm465, to a propshaft, to a .75/1 reverse case, to 2 prop shafts, to a 3 speed aux transmission, to a 271 transfer case 1/1 drive chain(just the chain and gears), to the pinion of a 14 bolt 4.56 dwr axle turning four 216/70/r16 tires.

If your confused I would be also. I will post some pictures later on this afternoon. I don't have the transfer case chain/gears or smaller tires and just running rollers at this point.

Now all this accounts for 12 speeds and a drive train that can handle engine torque of 800ft/lbs without any need to upgrade anything or buy any specialty parts(t56 guys you know what I mean). While I have 12 speeds I don't see using more then 8.

The sm465 ratios are 6.56(not used), 3.58(Warm up gear), 1.7, and 1.0. The 3 speed aux trans ratios are 1.52,1, .72.

If I leave the 3 speed in low(1.52) and start off in 3rd gear in the sm465 then pull back into 4th I will only need to shift once between 0 and 70 without the engine going over 4500 rpm.

The ratios in this setup are 2.58, 1.54, 1.0, .72. It should provide brisk acceleration with the ablity to drop down into the 2 other gears and cruise once up to 70.

To paint a bit better picture of the layout lets look the single shift 0-70 I am trying to achieve and you will see my issue.