15 or 20 amp circuit? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2011, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 633
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
15 or 20 amp circuit?

In my garage I have a circuit composed of 12 gauge 20 amp wire, but has 8 15 amp outlets.

Is this a 15 or 20 amp circuit?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2011, 08:07 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,541
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 166 Times in 140 Posts
12 ga wire = 20 amp circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2011, 08:27 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,479
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 13
Thanked 285 Times in 265 Posts
elect code

It's been a while , but the code allowed 15 amp rated outlets for residential use on a 20 amp 12 ga wire circuit. If I remember right commercial 20 amp outlets have a t shaped slot for the "hot" side. It's been a while since the Elect code class but if i remember right the outlets should have the wires fastened with wire nuts or connectors approved for 20 amps, and a pigtail wire to the 15 amp outlet. the 15 amp outlets are not rated for passing thru 20 amps. I think an elect buildin inspector has to be sharp to catch that when the building permit is signed off. building codes are a guide line that the JHA (jusisdiction having authority ) can adopt or modify for local conditions.

Last edited by timothale; 04-05-2011 at 08:36 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2011, 08:49 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,839
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If I am reading you right you have 8 15 amp receptacles fed from one #12 wire. If that is what you have then the total load of all receptacles cannot exceed 20 amps. Additionally no individual receptacle cannot exceed it's rated 15 amp capacity.

How is the #12 wire protected? Is it fed from a 20 circuit breaker?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2011, 08:58 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,479
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 13
Thanked 285 Times in 265 Posts
20 amp

If you plan on using a high current draw appliance-machine you could change an outlet to a commercial 20 amp outlet. the engine heater I need to start the diesel navistar came with a 15 amp cord, I have had to replace it twice in 10 years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2011, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 633
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
20 amp circuit breaker

The number 12 wire on this circuit is protected with a 20 amp circuit breaker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add-on cornering lamp circuit??? jimfulco Electrical 10 05-26-2011 09:09 PM
200 4R/700 R4 Lock Up Circuit Ted's37 Transmission - Rearend 0 08-12-2009 09:26 PM
circuit board trouble american muscle rulz Electrical 2 06-24-2007 12:17 PM
GM Wiper Circuit Elder Rodder Electrical 17 08-18-2006 08:45 AM
window circuit i3igmind Electrical 1 11-17-2003 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.