1937 Buick suspension upgrade - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2011, 11:18 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

1937-1957 Buick Oldsmobile Pontiac suspension upgrade

I have a 1937 Buick Roadmaster (81 Sedan) that I'm just starting work on. I'm considering performing the upgrades described in:
wiki/1937-1957_Buick_Oldsmobile_Pontiac_suspension_upgrade
and
wiki/Swapping_to_rack_and_pinion_steering.
Can anyone answer the following questions:
1) In the wiki, the '58 Pontiac spindles were swapped for '65 - '70 CPP drop spindles because the vehicle sat too high. Were the drop spindles required to make the vehicle to stock height or lower?
2) Was stock engine in the '41 Pontiac used for that upgrade?
3) How low was the front of the car with the drop spindles?
4) Has anyone lived with this type of conversion, for a while, who can share long term results?
5) Local scrap yards say here are different Cavalier rack & pinions. Does anyone know which was used in the '41 Buick (6" throw)?
5) Most local Hot Rod shops are all recommending a Mustang II front end. They say the original cannot compare, and conversions like this wiki are a waste of money. Has anyone driven a similar cars with the above conversion and a Mustang II front end?
Thanks,
Mutt's37Buick

Advertisement

Last edited by Mutt's37Buick; 03-16-2011 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-16-2011, 04:09 PM

Last photo:

1937 Buick Suspension upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutt's37Buick
I have a 1937 Buick Roadmaster (81 Sedan) that I'm just starting work on. I'm considering performing the upgrades described in: