1947 chevy fleetmaster subframe - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2008, 11:27 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

1947 chevy fleetmaster subframe

as i stated in my greeting i have a 1947 chevy fleet master that was my parents. my question has been getting mixed results. maybe someone here can clear this up. I have very little experience and am learning as i go so have patience. i would like to subframe my car and have been told that a S10 frame would work. it seems to me that the rise in the rear is too high with out modifying the trunk area of the car to allow it to rest completely down. i have also been told that it would be easier to install a front suspension on original frame, but the frame is pretty much rusted through in places. would this be the best frame choice or would another one work better or is it better to try and patch original frame as i go? I have access to an s-10 frame now so expense that way is ok. just need some suggestions for limited income, thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-07-2008, 05:48 AM
1947 Chevy Coupe

Last photo:

Four wheel drives are wider than two wheel drives so make sure you have a compatible frame. Also, take a million measurements before you do anything. I bought a two wheel drive S 10 Blazer to harvest the drivetrain out of only to find I needed a four wheel drive rear end.