Hot Rod Forum banner

1955 Mercury axle rebuild

3K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  AutoGear 
#1 ·
Having kids and a wife has taken me mostly out of the hobby over the past 12 years or so, and things are getting to a point that I'm getting back into it. I'm getting a frame sandblasted and powdercoated, so my current project is getting a rolling frame together for my 1955 Mercury Montclair frame-off restoration.

I've never done an axle rebuild. I worked as an engineer at American Axle for a while, so I've got a working familiarity with axle internals. I'm not familiar with the specifics on my axle, so I'm looking for some resources. I have 2 axles to work with, and I only suspect that both need at least some seal replaced, so my assumption is I might as well replace all seals and replace bearings while I'm at it.

My questions:
1) Is there's anything I shouldn't bother with because it's not likely worn out and/or too difficult?
2) Any equipment I should have for the job? I'm assuming I'll need a hydraulic press and plan to get one, but any guidance on what I should get would be appreciated?
3) I looked at C&G Early Ford and this is the shopping list I put together, is there any parts I need that's missing?

8M-4621 Pinion Front Bearing 28.50 ea 1 28.50
8A-4616 Pinion Front Bearing Race 12.50 ea 1 12.50
8L-4628 Pinion Rear Bearing Race 15.00 ea 1 15.00
B5A-4630 Pinion Rear Bearing 28.50 ea 1 28.50
8M-4215 Pinion Shaft Gear 37.50 ea 1 37.50
8M-4676-USA Pinion Seal 22.00 ea 1 22.00
8L-4221 Differential Bearing 25.00 ea 1 25.00
8L-4222 Differential Bearing Race 13.25 ea 1 13.25
B7A-1177-A Rear Wheel / Axle Seals 5.00 ea 1 5.00
8M-1225-A/1180 Rear Axle Bearing & Retainer 28.00 set 1 28.00
8A-2245 Rear Wheel Bearing Retainer Gasket 3.50 ea 1 3.50

See less See more
#2 ·
1) Is there's anything I shouldn't bother with because it's not likely worn out and/or too difficult?