Hot Rod Forum banner

1962 Studebaker Lark

14K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  BOBCRMAN@aol.com 
#1 ·
Hey, I'm new to the hotrodding scene. Wanty to get my first classic and I'm looking at a 1962 Studebaker Lark. Its in perfect running order. Can anyone give me some idea of what kind of work I'm going to have to put into this? Is it going to be an expensive car to keep maintained? and if something goes on it how hard is it to find replacement parts? Thank guys.

#2 ·
The very first thing many people would think looking at this car is it needs to be "updated". It needs a small block chevy and disc brakes and on an on. But in the real world that car will be a WONDERFUL driver just the way it is! They were miles ahead of their time and it really is a heck of a nice car.

When you get into the "community" associated with any old car you find yourself surrounded by many like minded people with MANY sources for parts. Believe it or not it may be easier to get parts for that Studebaker than many cars made decades later! Studebakers have a huge following and there are too many web sites to list where people are talking about them and providing answers to questions about them.

I have an equally odd old car, a 1959 Rambler American. I am simply blown away at how many people know about these cars and what parts are available. There is really no big deal getting parts, not super easy like a year old Chevy or something, but not that hard at all.