Hot Rod Forum banner

1964 Pontiac 389 Rebuilt (74' 400 Heads) - Have questions...

21K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  LATECH 
#1 ·
This is a long project running, looking through some forums and afraid I have messed up in ordering parts.

First, let you know I'm not a mechanic, my brother is... sorta. Enough that I worry less about him doing things than I do about doing it myself... lol So if my 'words and thoughts' are wrong, no prob, just correct me please.

Second, the rundown to catch you all up to speed:

'64 Pontiac Bonneville Brougham w/ 389, rebuilt and bored over .030
forged pistons for 389

heads are from '74 pontiac firebird, 400 block, redone w/ new valves and guides by machinist (about $350 head job)

Attaching the gas-guzzler to a rebuilt turbo 400 w/ a mid-level shift kit

Master rebuilt kit order by machinist who bored out the engine, did the crankshaft, and redid the heads for me, gaskets and all that should be all in order... I hope. But that is small stuff...

In the chaos and lull between tear-down and reconstruction... I have... lost pushrods, timing cover/water pump... bolts... engine mounts... and probably a few other things as we go.... balancer, pulleys, flexplate, yada yada.

Anyways, ordered a flexplate, and the bolts needed to stick the block to the trans, engine mounts, roller rockers. Sorted through the rest of what I have and have an Edelbrock performer intake and think its a 650cc holley 4-barrel.

Goal: Daily Driver that picks up lots of women... drive her daily, get it? I'm in college... anyways... Eats gas? No problem, it looks good parked, too. (And that big back seat...)

Now, what I need: