Hot Rod Forum banner

1968 mustang rear end - swap

27K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  matt167 
#1 ·
hello all,

i have a 1968 Ford Mustang coupe, that i am working on for my first project.

my project car came with a Ford 8 inch rear end. i am not an expert in this area but the rear facing plate is smooth and the axle shafts are tapered leading me to believe that this is indeed an 8 inch rear end.

the car has been converted to 5 lug axles (both front and back). when i took the car apart i found that the back breaks were drums, but someone had already converted the front to disc breaks.

someone that i know has offered to sell me an 8.8 inch rear end from a later model Ford Explorer with disc breaks.

is this a good choice for a rear end swap?

until recently i was planning on putting the same rear end back in to the car when i finished.

any suggestions or advice would be welcome.

thank you
mark

See less See more
#3 ·
hello,

thank you for the reply!

you are right - i should have given people more input on what i plan to do with the car.

this is not a "numbers matching" vehicle - so i really just wanted to "learn" with my first project. i love mustangs and this vehicle was in the right place at the right time and it was in the right price category.

i have been doing EVERYTHING myself. my plan (so far i am sticking to it ;) it to strip the car down to nothing and put it on the rotisserie. there are some pics of this in my project folder.

i have the bottom of the car almost completely stripped of undercoating.

when i say "learn" i really do mean it. i want to do all of the body work myself and paint the car. i also plan on doing all of the wiring and interior as well. my thinking was to have the transmission, rear end and engine gone through (i do not think i can do this on my own) by someone else.

AFAIK - the car has your basic 289 engine with an automatic trans.

long range was to drive it for awhile, then probably sell it.