Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Engine (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/engine/)
-   -   1970 Olds 455 not sparking (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/1970-olds-455-not-sparking-220902.html)

Trans Am Tony 06-23-2012 05:11 PM

1970 Olds 455 not sparking

Hi guys. I am completely stumped and need help. I have a Olds 455 engine with points in a 79 Trans Am that has no spark. Originally, I pulled the distributor to take off the vac advance can so I would have more adjustibility to the timing, but I accidently pulled the wire off the points. I've never worked on a points distributor before, so I hooked the wire up wrongly, causing an overload which melted down my 2 fusible links behind the alternator, the coil, and the points and condensor. I bought a new distributor, cap, rotor, wires, coil and put in new fusible link wires. When I hooked up the grounds to the new coil and distributor to my firewall 4 way ground, it got extremely HOT!

Figuring I burned the 4 way ground out, I made 2 new ground wires and ran them to the battery ground. I have 11.34v at the coil, but no spark. I replaced the new coil with a newer coil, no spark. I set the points at .018, nothing. The timing is set perfectly, but I just can't get the thing to fire. I have pulled the plug and grounded it to an exhaust manifold while the wife cranks the engine and I don't see a spark.

Do you think I might have burned out the condenser when I had it hooked up to the bad ground? How do I check if I have power to the points? Am I missing something? Really at the end of my rope. I'm disabled and on a limited income, so I don't want to take it to a shop.......Thanks for all replies, Tony...

Greg T 06-23-2012 09:24 PM