1979 C30 454 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2010, 12:18 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

1979 C30 454

Hello guys,

I have a 1979 C30 with the 454. The truck is going to be used as a DD + work truck, pulling brush and logs.

I've been looking into the summit racing cheapo headers, and then 3" back to undecided muffler. I'm new to v8's so i have no clue what H or X pipes do, or how they help performance/sound.

Also was thinking about changing the carb, and get rid of the q-jet. But ive also read, that if they're tuned right, then they are great carbs. Since im new to carb motors as well, i have no clue about how to tell if it is adjusted right, or even how to adjust it.

Last thing, and last thing that will be done is a cam. I've read that a 205/210 lift cam will work great for this motor. Any suggestions on cams? Also read that Comp Cams XE262h is a great cam aswell.

After these upgrades should i worry about the added power hurting the th400? Reason I ask is, I blew the tranny in my last car.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2010, 01:18 AM
Yada Yada Yada

Last photo:

Long tube headers and 2.5" dual exhaust. 2.5" in/out Dynomax or Magnaflow mufflers.
Then weld on a long 3.5" chrome tip on the end of the tail pipe to get that big pipes look..

These motors have a low low compression ratio. They do not respond to big cams unless the compression ratio is changed.
Head swap to a 60's era closed chamber 396-427 oval port head (96 to 101cc) or late gen VI BBC Vortec head. (99cc)
Or piston swap. Gets the cr up.
You can swap the factory th400 13" low stall torque converter for the converter from a