1986 chevy braking problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2012, 03:17 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

1986 chevy braking problems

Im new to the truck world so i need some help with my 3/4 ton chevy k20 350, the brakes i have to push down all the way and it still keeps rolling a few feet then stops, is this the nature of the beast there is no squealing when it stops just not real safe cause i slam the pedal into the floor and it keeps rolling what should i be looking for first.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2012, 03:24 PM

Last photo:

Start by checking the fluid level in your mastercylinder, if its low, you need to determine where the fluid went. Could be a bad wheel cylinder or caliper, a leaking flex line to one of the front wheels or rear axle, rusted out steel lines anywhere within the braking system, or a master cylinder that is leaking internally.

What is your experience level with braking systems in general?
Old 05-03-2012, 04:19 PM

hey