1991 Caprice 305 engine swap to 1964 327 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 05:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
1991 Caprice 305 engine swap to 1964 327

Hey, I have a 1991 Chevy Caprice wagon w/305 engine. The 305 is extremely anemic and has 250,000 plus miles. I want to swap this motor for a 1964 SBC 327 from a Corvette I have. I am wondering about the computor stuff working with the older SB. Can it be done? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 06:49 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi
Welcome to Hotrodders.com Glad to have you with us.

You'd be miles & dollars ahead buy getting another 305 or 350
of a vintage around what your Caprice is.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 06:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
1991 Caprice 305/327 swap

Hi Rich! So, why would getting another 305 or 350 benefit me over my 327? I don't have to buy another engine, as I already have the 327. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 07:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the heads dont have the accessory holes for the long water pump. are you gonna reuse the quadrajet and emission stuff or you gonna use a different carb and distributer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 08:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The car is fuel injected, but gonna change it and use a reg Rochester carb, no emissions, 492 camel hump heads and HEI. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 08:34 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi
losing cubic inches doesn't help moving that wagon, the 327 & the 350 are the same except the stroke & you'll have more torque with the 350 & that's what it takes to move the wagon along. Of course you could do a gear change & accomplish the same thing. I had also assumed you were going to use the FI along with all the sensors since you mentioned about using the computer with the 327. but if you plan on doing it with a carb & only using the computer for whats necessary it's an easy swap.
Sorry for the confusion on my part, I should have asked before answering.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 09:16 PM
killerformula's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Carburetor
Last journal entry: Clean up
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northeast
Age: 33
Posts: 3,485
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
I wouldn't be too anxious to dump the fuel injection. I would just put another, fresh 305 or 350 in it. To be frank you're not going to be getting anywhere to fast either way...

K
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 10:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Rich, I'd be gaining cubic inches, as the car has a 305 w/170hp right now, and the 327 has 350 stock cubes. I'm in Indiana so emissions aren't a factor. The wagon has a curb weight of 4350 pounds, it's only 400 pounds more than my 1970 Grand Prix. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2012, 11:46 PM
Valkyrie5.7's Avatar
www.generationhighoutput. com
 
Last wiki edit: Painting chrome wheels
Last journal entry: Stopping my journal entries here
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix
Age: 27
Posts: 893
Wiki Edits: 15

Thanks: 147
Thanked 69 Times in 60 Posts
I'd rebuild the 305 you have with 081 or L98 heads, 3.73 gears, vortec/b-body LT1 roller cam, chip and a free flowing exhaust. It'd give it enough grunt to be fun and you could keep your computer controls and fuel injection.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2012, 05:57 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Valkyries5.7, But I'm old-school and hate computors anyway. The wagon is just the family car. I have a '69 Firebird 400 that I'm building for real fun that I'm putting all my $ into.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2012, 04:57 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington
Age: 67
Posts: 5,152
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 86
Thanked 122 Times in 114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral Nimitz
Thanks Rich, I'd be gaining cubic inches, as the car has a 305 w/170hp right now, and the 327 has 350 stock cubes. I'm in Indiana so emissions aren't a factor. The wagon has a curb weight of 4350 pounds, it's only 400 pounds more than my 1970 Grand Prix. Thanks again!
What?? The 327 has 327 "stock cubes". You're saying the wagon "only" weighs 400 pounds more than a Grand Prix...what's your point, they're both extremely heavy tanks. You need cubic inches if you want performance from either, period.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2012, 06:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What are you talking about the 327 has 327 stock cubes? It has 350hp. I mistook my words....read between the lines. What's your point?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Swap: 5.7 LT1 into 1990 Caprice Classic capriceclassic1990 Engine 7 07-12-2012 02:05 PM
Cant pass emissions 1991 caprice classic markblock Engine 2 09-16-2010 03:13 PM
1991 chevy 4x4, 350 engine, transmission swap? blurrydan Transmission - Rearend 1 01-11-2010 05:52 AM
Tranny and engine swap questions...."1990 caprice classic"th400 vs 67' muncie 4 speed 74chevyflat Engine 5 02-10-2007 09:28 PM
running amp wires in a 1991 chevy caprice bxallday Electrical 5 04-04-2006 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.