1993 T56 clutch operation questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2011, 04:11 PM

Last journal entry: More information
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

1993 T56 clutch operation questions

Hi guys,

I posted a while ago about this -- i thought i had it figured out, but apparently i am very wrong, or there is something very messed up with my clutch.

I have a Wilwood Master cylinder, which is a .75 bore, 1.4 inch stroke. The slave cylinder I used was a 1" bore, with a ? stroke. It came from a 1990 Camaro, rather than the 93 camaro which my T56 is from. I had read on various forums that this slave (the 90) could be swapped because it was essentially the same as the stock (93) slave, but it had a bleeder.

I was beginning to bleed the system, and I was noticing that the pedal effort was quite high. Suddenly, KABLAM. The slave cylinder burst. It looked as if the cylinder had extended past its end, and blew all of its seals.

I am not sure what size the original stock master cylinder/slave is. On rock auto, there is a slave cylinder which is 11/16" and a master that is 7/8". On summit, the Master is listed as a 3/4" and the slave is 1 1/4". I'm not sure which source to believe -- and what is more troubling is that since I don't know the stroke length on the stock master, I am unsure exactly how much fluid is being displaced.

Cdboy warned me about Pedal effort/pedal ratio -- I am limited on Master cylinders (my application can only fit the Wilwood compact master -- the .75 is the largest of the type that i see on their site.) What should I do? I am also unsure exactly how much throw I need from the slave to fully disengage the clutch -- 1/2 an inch? .75 inches?