200 4r Converter Lock Up - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2008, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mt. Juliet TN
Posts: 99
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
200 4r Converter Lock Up

I am replacing the 350 tranny in my 37 Ford with a 200 4r. What is the best recommended way to control the converter lock up?

Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:00 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 70
Posts: 2,218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi,


http://www.jegs.com/p/TCI/748599/10002/-1
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:27 PM
redlightning's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: TN
Age: 50
Posts: 1,082
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
I had one in my 80 camaro for awhile.I just used a toggle switch.It worked fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2008, 01:59 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
If you only plan to use the TC lockup in 4th gear such as on the freeway for gas mileage, the toggle switch method Redlightning mentioned will work. 12Volts to pin-A on the 4-pin connector, left side of trans.
This is a very cheap kit that only activates when it senses line pressure from the 4th gear pressure switch. It can be located externally by the port on right side of trans or internally on Valve body inside trans pan.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/700R4...QQcmdZViewItem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mt. Juliet TN
Posts: 99
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Which is Best

I only want lock up in 4th gear, and don't want to have to remember to do anything manually.
So which is the best, the TCI or toggle solution?
The cost different is not problem.

Thanks, for the suggestions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:52 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 438
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
The TCI kit works automatically without having to do anything manually. Automatically engages when in fourth unless engine load is high (low vacuum), or brake pedal is pushed. Will feel like a subtle extra gear.

The manual override to disengage is useful if you are in slow traffic or on winding country roads. Manually disengage OD so engine doesn't lug or keep going into and out of OD.

John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:56 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlauerjr
I only want lock up in 4th gear, and don't want to have to remember to do anything manually.
So which is the best, the TCI or toggle solution?
The cost different is not problem.

Thanks, for the suggestions.
If cost in't a factor get one of the complete kits. They come with vacuum switch, oil pressure switch & all wiring/plugs etc.. Several companies make them. The brake light switch disengages lockup when you press the peddle. The vacuum switch engages lockup when vacuum is high at light/part throttle and disengages lockup when vacuum drops with more throttle opening. Adjustable vacuum switches are available to fine tune lockup also.
TCI Kit
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
Same TCI Kit on Ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TCI-2...QQcmdZViewItem
B&M Kit has lighted toggle switch & lockup can be switched off.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/B-M-8...QQcmdZViewItem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:46 AM
345 desoto's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Skaneateles, NY Summer/Port St.Lucie, FL Winter
Age: 71
Posts: 416
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Go for the automatic switch. It allows the tranny to operate the way it was intended. It's not like you need to buy one every week...it's a small, one time expense...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2008, 10:53 AM
PutPut72's Avatar
Earplugs are in the glovebox
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This one is about double of the ones you are looking at, but I have one in my 72 Chevy C-10 with a 700R-4, and I love it. It has a rheostat that allows you to set the speed at which the converter locks up, and it has a manual override button if you don't want it to come on. So whatever gear you are in, when you hit the MPH that you have set with the dial, the converter will lockup. JMO but I love it.


http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku

Also just so you know, some of the kits that were suggested you have to drop the transmission pan and install a new pressure lockup switch on the valve body, (kind of a pain if you don't want to do it). But their are some, like the one that I suggested, that you only have to plug it in on the side of the trans, add the electric sender inline with your speedo cable (its just an inline type, very easy and quick),route and mount the wires and box and supply it with 12v, very easy to install.

Last edited by PutPut72; 10-03-2008 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TCI Stall Converter - Blown SB 68NovaSS Transmission - Rearend 10 09-09-2008 01:42 PM
700r4 lock or unlock t converter JDS539 Transmission - Rearend 3 07-24-2008 10:35 PM
TH350 gap between converter and flexplate QUESTION chrisgarrison Transmission - Rearend 6 12-27-2004 12:32 AM
how do i know if i have a lock up converter? 72HeavyChevy Transmission - Rearend 1 01-01-2003 03:33 PM
TH350 lock up wiring JMAC Electrical 0 06-14-2002 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.