2000 RPM to make chevy move? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2012, 05:47 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2000 RPM to make chevy move?

Hey guys I'm working with a 700 R4 in an 83 K10, it was rebuilt a few months ago the original converter was reused. When you shift into reverse it moves pretty normal but when you shift into Drive it doesn't wanna move at all and if you put it down into 1,2,3 it will go forward when you get to about 2000 rpms... I need to finish this truck soon and I don't know any one that has the knowledge and time to come help me out, any input would be greatly appreciated. I don't know if its the converter but I hope it is, aside from getting a pressure guage and checking things out I'm stuck. Please help?!?!?!?
Thank you in advance.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2012, 07:09 AM
rick 427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: The Cheetah
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
It's not the converter,as it backs up ok. It would also take 2000 rpm's to back up if the converter was bad.And it is also not a pressure or low fluid problem,again,as reverse is not affected. I don't know exactly what it could be,but if someone else rebuilt the trans, and it came to me,I would take it apart,and look for the cause.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2012, 09:14 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regular6d View Post
Hey guys I'm working with a 700 R4 in an 83 K10, it was rebuilt a few months ago the original converter was reused. When you shift into reverse it moves pretty normal but when you shift into Drive it doesn't wanna move at all and if you put it down into 1,2,3 it will go forward when you get to about 2000 rpms... I need to finish this truck soon and I don't know any one that has the knowledge and time to come help me out, any input would be greatly appreciated. I don't know if its the converter but I hope it is, aside from getting a pressure guage and checking things out I'm stuck. Please help?!?!?!?
Thank you in advance.
Start by setting up the TV cable linkage correctly- it has to be set right or the tranny will fail!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 07:26 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well we have set up the tv cable properly now, and pulled the trans apart again, there were two bent friction plates in the 3-4 set and other than that everything else seemed normal. I was told the front pump was replaced during the rebuild, and we now have a known good torque converter, problem still persists tho. Would the front pump make a difference? By that I mean if my trans has no aux valve body and the pump came off of one that did could the hole where the crossover tube goes be causing the problem? I was reading the Haynes trans book and it mentions plugging the hole if it wasn't could that cause the issue like theres not enough pressure being built up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 09:03 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regular6d View Post
Well we have set up the tv cable properly now, and pulled the trans apart again, there were two bent friction plates in the 3-4 set and other than that everything else seemed normal. I was told the front pump was replaced during the rebuild, and we now have a known good torque converter, problem still persists tho. Would the front pump make a difference? By that I mean if my trans has no aux valve body and the pump came off of one that did could the hole where the crossover tube goes be causing the problem? I was reading the Haynes trans book and it mentions plugging the hole if it wasn't could that cause the issue like theres not enough pressure being built up?
First, I am not a TH700R4 transmission expert. But there seems to me to be a mismatch between your pumps, just as you suspect. Besides the obvious problem of a potential pressure loss due to an unplugged port, there is also a difference in the later pumps as to being pulse with modulated or not. How that might affect the tranny lock up function of the TC I cannot say, just something you might want to look into.

But either way, I would want to know what the pressures are. A gauge can be made fairly cheaply- 700r4 slipping
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 10:02 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327 View Post
First, I am not a TH700R4 transmission expert. But there seems to me to be a mismatch between your pumps, just as you suspect. Besides the obvious problem of a potential pressure loss due to an unplugged port, there is also a difference in the later pumps as to being pulse with modulated or not. How that might affect the tranny lock up function of the TC I cannot say, just something you might want to look into.

But either way, I would want to know what the pressures are. A gauge can be made fairly cheaply- 700r4 slipping
Thanks Cobalt I am going to get a pressure gauge today I'm sure I can make one. I will probably not get to working on the truck till tomorrow but I will post my results thanks again for all the responses.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2012, 04:15 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So I finally got the transmission figured out and I'm still having the same issue. Only thing I an figuee now is that the timing is incorrect. I have it set at 8 btdc and it idles fine but it has to be at around 26 btdc to get into gear without dying, I havw no clue what cam is in the motor so I am not sure what the baseline timing should be, I do know its not a stock cam but I didn't install it so don't have any info about it. Any thoughts about course of action would be great. Thanks all
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
700r4, chevy

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2000 rpm TC with lower engine rpm fierosum Transmission - Rearend 5 06-19-2012 03:33 PM
2000 ford taurus wont move in gear vicky Transmission - Rearend 3 02-11-2012 06:50 AM
Tranny works in reverse but needs high rpm in drive to move mannasugar Transmission - Rearend 3 05-30-2009 08:12 PM
chevy 350, 186 heads, how make 7500 rpm Gladis Engine 19 06-06-2007 12:25 PM
Truck won't move til 4000 rpm 406S18 Transmission - Rearend 14 05-05-2005 06:31 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.