'2001 Malibu temperature sending unit not working - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:14 AM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
'2001 Malibu temperature sending unit not working

My 2001 Malibu temperature gauge stopped working (stays on cold) so I disconnected the sending unit and grounded the 2 pins to see if the dash gauge would go up to hot - Nothing happened.
In the past I’ve had trouble with the ignition switch contacts becoming burnt and causing some of the dash gauges not to function so I cleaned them with fine sandpaper, so again (hoping this was the problem) I disassembled the switch and cleaned the contacts, reassembled everything started the car and the check engine light came on. I went to auto Zone and used their Diagnostic machine and it gave me a code P0118 (engine coolant temp. circuit high input) and code P0128 (coolant temp. below thermostat regulations). I then erased the codes and the check engine is now off and the gauge still doesn’t work. Also when I shift the trans to Drive it hits REALLY hard like the engine was turning about 2500 RPM’s other wise it shifts fine thru the gears while driving the car. It shifts from Neutral to Reverse fine it’s just from Neutral to Drive that it bangs.
Did I blow some portion of the PCM or is it the temp sensor is bad and the PCM is getting some weird reading and causing the tranny to bang into gear?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2007, 03:37 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Is this a Digital dash?

If mechanical, and you did not get a response from grounding the sender wire, it would indicate the wire or gauge is at fault..

Check the sender wire back to the instrument bucket with a DVOM, set to OHMS, R X 1, Calibrated 000, It should read "000" from the sender to the bucket, If infinite, it's open and needs repair or replacement.

Next if good, locate the "S" terminal on the gauge, (at the laminate card) jump it to ground, and watch the gauge, If it pegs, the gauge is good, and you may have a bad connection at the laminate card or an open trace.

If it does not move, check the "I" terminal for 12 volts at the gauge laminate card) If missing, check the connection and/or fuse.

If it is good, check the "G" terminal on OHMS (no ignition power on) R X 1, Calibrated to "000", it should read 000, if not, you have a bad ground at the card.

If all are good, your gauge is at fault.

The RPM's may or may not be related, (computer thinking it's at high idle, cold, and telling the transmission to hang in at a higher idle..) so were it I, I'd fix the gauge first..you may not have a secondary problem.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:20 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I drove the car today and the check engine came back on. Is it possible that the sending unit is bad which gives the PCM an out of range reading. The gauges are mechanical and the RPM at idle is about 500 or so. Also, there are two wires to the sending unit I think one was yellow and the other was black or some dark color, is one ground and the other to the computer or do they both go to the computer? I think the service manual said something about 5 volts to the sending unit and something I didn't understand about so many pulses. Is a DVOM a digital volt meter and does "back to the instrument bucket" mean to the back of the dash and is the laminate card the printed circuit?

Last edited by lamothe1; 03-06-2007 at 01:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:16 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,306
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Any car newer than 10 years old I assume; computer controls it unless found otherwise.
Check out www.alldatadiy.com and subscribe to that particular car.
That will give you all you need.
Unfortunately, shorting out a computer controlled device is not something you find recommended on late model cars.
Get out the checkbook.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:26 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

OK, If the Gauge or Wire or sender were "open" the computer would probably see an open loop situation..Setting off the Check engine light..So you need to troubleshoot and eliminate Those first..

The sender should have a resistance to ground when measured, (you'll have to look it up for your car or ask a parts guy..) remove the sender, get a pan of boiling water (212 degrees) and a accurate lab (or meat) thermometer, next, hook the sender up to It's plug, and tightly wrap a bare ended ground wire around the sender body, and ground it to the engine..

Immerse The sender in the water CAREFULLY, and monitor the gauge in the car..It should report..If not remove the sender, clip your DVOM, set to R X 1 , OHMS scale, calibrated to "000" . to ground and either pin on the sender, immerse it back in the water, (be sure it's still 212 degrees) and watch your meter..It should read at or above the resistance Specs for the sender..Watch as the water cools, it should decline or increase in resistance readings (depending on how the sender is orientated) .. Do the same for the other pin..If it HAS a reading, It's probably good, If it's infinite, (no reading changes) It's bad..Replace it.

If the sender checks good, find the wire that goes AWAY from it to the gauge bucket and/or computer, (follow the color code to the pins ) You SHOULD get a manual for your car (auto zombie..like $21.00) for the pin numbers assigned..Using your DVOM, set to OHMS, R X 1 , Calibrated to "000", measure the wire to BOTH points..it should read "000" , in no reading OR the reading fluctuates , repair or replace the wire..It's broken, burned or has a bad pin..CLEAN and burnish the computer plug pins AND backplane with a Good electrical cleaner, and burnishing tool..BE careful in this area and disconnect the battery cable.

Next Check the wire between the gauge and / or the computer or sender the same way, from the laminate card, and the sender or computer..It should read "000" if not its bad, repair or replace as required..

If that is good, remove the laminate card from the bucket (it should all come as a unit, gauges and all..Inspect it for burned traces..or bad pins in the plug well..measure between the "S" , "I", and "G" pins as before, for a "000" reading..If any are infinite, the pin, or trace is bad or burned open..a new laminate card is in order..

If all is good, the gauge is bad..replace it as needed.

Yes, a DVOM is a digital Volt ohm meter..

A "Bucket" is the metal well the gauge sub~cluster sits inside of..remove that and you should have access to the laminate card and gauges..

A Laminate card is a (in GM cases, anyway) thin "filmy" flexible card with printed circuit traces on TOP and BOTTOM,(and sometimes in the middle) of the laminate to direct the signal flow to the proper devices..(gauges, lights, ect..)BE CAREFUL with it, It is fragile!! If you bend it too far, it may snap a trace..It should BOLT right onto the gauges.

The Black wire is NOT a ground, but rather a low signal From the Computer to the sender (DO not ground it, it can damage the Quad buffer / Driver on the computer) It works by sending a "Clock pulse" or a series of low pulses to the sender as opposed to a hard ground, that operate sender, in "sync with the computer damands..The other side should be hard data..(or even a fused 5 volts)..

Hope it helps out..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 01:10 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It looks like I'm in for a busy weekend. I'm worried about the Black wire that I should NOT have grounded, I hope that it didn't blow the computer. thanks for all the info. I'll post the results
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2007, 02:03 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamothe1
It looks like I'm in for a busy weekend. I'm worried about the Black wire that I should NOT have grounded, I hope that it didn't blow the computer. thanks for all the info. I'll post the results
Doc here,

Keep us posted!

The quad driver/buffer may have been able to absorb the "hit" provided you didn't run it too long..Their pretty stout..

On those, the usual config is one is reference pulse, the other is sender..AND one more thing, are you sure you got the right sender? GM also uses two..one traditionally on the left head ( 1 pin, Gauge) and one on the right head (2 pin Computer)..check to be sure you have the correct one.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 01:27 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The one I unplugged was right below the Thermostat housing, it has two pins and is on the side of the motor that's toward the front of the car. Is that the one that activates the dash gauge and is there another on the firewall side?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 03:49 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamothe1
The one I unplugged was right below the Thermostat housing, it has two pins and is on the side of the motor that's toward the front of the car. Is that the one that activates the dash gauge and is there another on the firewall side?
Doc here,

The two pin on the housing is probably the computer..

There should be another on one of the heads, below the manifolds, that is a one pin ... that would probably be the gauge.

The one on the (Firewall?? ) side, is probably Oil sender.

That is if it is configured like a Pre 2000 SBC.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 04:19 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
One more question.
If there is another sending unit on one of the heads that seams to be tapped into a water jacket and has a single pin, would it be safe to ground it out to see if the temperature needle moves?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 04:24 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

just have someone watch the gauge, and , with key on, without the engine running, quickly ground it, If the gauge "Jumps" that is the one you want.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2007, 04:41 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, I'll work on it this weekend
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:52 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well it’s fixed. I checked the wires from the sending unit and they were O K, next I removed and disassembled the gauge assembly but there weren’t any of the letters “S” “I”, etc on the printed circuit board so I put everything back together, noticed that the temp. gauge was working so I reset the PCM and now everything fine. It must have been a one of the pins on a plug wasn’t making a good contact. Thanks for all the input.

Last edited by lamothe1; 03-12-2007 at 01:00 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2007, 04:01 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

KWEL, you may have had a bad cluster ground, common problem that "rights" itself after working on the cluster..Glad to hear it works!

The "S" terminal is for sender..

The "I" terminal is for 12 volts..

The "G" terminal is for ground..

Should you ever need it again, not all are marked or marked on the rear of the gauge not the laminate.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2007, 04:32 PM
lamothe1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: cypress, ca
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
On the back of the gauge their are 4 pins that plug into the circuit board one isn't used and the other 3 are marked #1, #2 & #4 and in the center between the numbered pins is "M2"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel sending unit help. lt1bbody Electrical 1 11-04-2005 04:18 PM
fuel level sending unit question mike bryan Electrical 3 12-04-2004 10:48 AM
Gas Gauge stopped working has power to it maybe sending unit??? 61ChevyTruck Hotrodding Basics 8 11-04-2004 09:02 AM
fuel sending unit ksm Electrical 3 07-28-2004 12:08 PM
Oil Sending Unit Assistance MI2600 Engine 3 09-11-2002 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.