2003 Impala question about temp gauge - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 12:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Formerly Calgary, Ab, Canada, now in France
Posts: 279
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
2003 Impala question about temp gauge

Hello,
Yes, I know, it is not a question about hot rodding, but there is so much knowledge on this forum, someone probably knows the answer!
The temperature gauge on a 2003 Chevy Impala is dead, the needle is stuck at 1/4, whether the engine is running or not. OK, I can live with that!
My question is whether this has (or will have) an effect on the proper running of the engine?
I believe that the temp sensor for the ECM, is different from the temp sensor for the gauge (so it should not be an issue), but just would like to make sure!
Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 01:01 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,301
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 220
Thanked 272 Times in 252 Posts
Hi wave. The sender is seperate from the ecm temp sender. My alldata is not up and running or I could elaborate. The ecm sensor will have a black and yellow wire to it( two wires) . The one for the gauge I think (not 100 percent without checking) is a one wire job. Nice to see you back.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 01:20 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Formerly Calgary, Ab, Canada, now in France
Posts: 279
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Hi Latech! You are always there with answers!
I am here sometimes, mostly reading and trying to learn new stuff!
Thanks for the answer, that is what I thought, so no issue driving with the dead gauge, good!
Nothing new with the EFI Suburban, it is WAY too cold here, we are hitting a HIGH of -11F today, soooo.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 01:25 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,301
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 220
Thanked 272 Times in 252 Posts
Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 05:38 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
You still may want to check if the engine is getting up to operating temperature.
If the heater is working OK you should be good.
I though +11 was cold. Yikes

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 07:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
If you have someone with a good scanner, they should be able to get the temp reading from the OBD port That will verify the temp that is being reported to the computer by that sensor.

Some of the GM and Ford vehicles have finicky stepper motors in the gauges, and the motors eventually have to be replaced because they are so inaccurate. The stepper motors are cheap (8$ each), but you have to disassemble the cluster to replace them. I'm not sure that applies to your 2003.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:54 PM
dklong's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: sussex nb canada
Age: 49
Posts: 247
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
like 75gmck25 said use a scanner with live data to get your temp reading, the temp senser can be a single wire or a 3 wire senser, it maybe a bad senser or a bad instrument cluster or a bad bcm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oil temp gauge fiscus Engine 7 10-21-2007 01:09 PM
transmission temp gauge 1983blazer Engine 2 03-31-2006 08:03 AM
temp gauge steve t Engine 5 04-14-2005 07:48 PM
Question about Temp-gauge not working??? Robbie Engine 4 06-13-2004 07:47 PM
Temp gauge grandprix601 Electrical 2 03-17-2004 08:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.