2004r lockup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2009, 03:29 PM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2004r lockup

Need advice from someone very knowledgeable with trannys. I've read that a 700 trans has the 3rd & 4th gear pressure switches inside it already, I have a stock, 2004r ('86 T-Type,BRF), does it have the 4th gear pressure switch inside also?? Don't know if I need to buy a switch yet or not. And, do you know if the solonoid is a single or two wire style on this BRF model ?? Haven't dropped the pan yet, need to lockup 4th, with a dash switch. This BRF is unmolested.

Thanks,
Marty

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2009, 05:37 PM
454 Rattler's Avatar
NEVER SATISFIED !!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eagle River WI.
Age: 70
Posts: 864
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 32 Posts
I can't help you but, I'm sure someone here will.

Welcome to HR.com

454 RATTLER
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2009, 06:37 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 61
Posts: 1,641
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
I'll ASSume you're using this in a non-PCM controlled vehicle.

The BRF has both 3rd and 4th switches, but you'll want a 700R 4th gear switch, as they are N.O. and close in gear (the 200R is N.C. and opens in gear). The TCC lockup solenoid has 2 wires (actually, if you buy a "stock" replacement, you'll get a 700R solenoid with spacers).

Outside, you just need a single switched "hot" (through the brake switch) to the case connector. Inside, from the connector to one leg of the TCC solenoid, then from the other leg to the 4th gear switch (grounds in 4th). You'll have lockup only in 4th gear, and it'll unlock when you step on the brake.

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2009, 07:25 PM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by S10xGN
I'll ASSume you're using this in a non-PCM controlled vehicle.

The BRF has both 3rd and 4th switches, but you'll want a 700R 4th gear switch, as they are N.O. and close in gear (the 200R is N.C. and opens in gear). The TCC lockup solenoid has 2 wires (actually, if you buy a "stock" replacement, you'll get a 700R solenoid with spacers).

Outside, you just need a single switched "hot" (through the brake switch) to the case connector. Inside, from the connector to one leg of the TCC solenoid, then from the other leg to the 4th gear switch (grounds in 4th). You'll have lockup only in 4th gear, and it'll unlock when you step on the brake.

Russ
Thanks Russ; I like that idea of using the brake switch hot+ to wire in the pressure switch instead of just using an ign. hot. Makes good sense and have the unlock feature at brake instead of having to flip a switch all the time

Marty
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2009, 07:55 PM
usmcsawgunner's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: kailua, HI
Age: 27
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thats what those tranny's are designed to do (thru the brake light hot)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2009, 09:35 AM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmcsawgunner
thats what those tranny's are designed to do (thru the brake light hot)
One other question: with the brake switch lockup method, will the locked conv. unlock with downshifts to 3rd or 2nd without touching the brake first???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2009, 02:54 PM
usmcsawgunner's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: kailua, HI
Age: 27
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
that i dont know i think its only in 4th
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2009, 03:15 PM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmcsawgunner
that i dont know i think its only in 4th
You'd think that when the 4th gear loses pressure, as in a downshift, the convertor should unlock??? Guess I'll find out soon enough! Thanks guys, for all the help & info.

Marty

Here's a youtube video of my car I took yesterday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_TXmApWlQs

Last edited by Mart54; 04-12-2009 at 05:06 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:31 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 61
Posts: 1,641
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart54
One other question: with the brake switch lockup method, will the locked conv. unlock with downshifts to 3rd or 2nd without touching the brake first???
If you wire it through the 4th gear switch only (like my above post), it'll unlock whenever it drops out of 4th gear.

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-14-2009, 03:31 PM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Russ

I will be wiring 4th gear switch this week. I got a 2 pin AC Delco switch for $7.95!!! at the auto parts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2009, 01:57 PM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
4th Gear Lockup

Just to thank everyone; 4th gear lockup is wired and working well. RPM drops 200 in OD now. Unlocks in 4th when downshifting. Wired a dash light in line, for quick notice if locked or not.

Marty




Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart54
I will be wiring 4th gear switch this week. I got a 2 pin AC Delco switch for $7.95!!! at the auto parts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2009, 06:15 PM
S10xGN's Avatar
Gotta love a turbo!
 

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Port Neches, TX
Age: 61
Posts: 1,641
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
Marty,

Glad it worked out for you! Nice touch adding the indicator light...

Russ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2009, 09:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Aledo il
Age: 55
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey guys, For future reference, the 2004R has a governor pressure switch that will work the same as the 4th gear switch and allow lock in 3rd if you have enough MPH, this make the lock up more like the factory but does not require a computer or additional wiring. The converter apply oil is blocked in 1st and 2nd so it will only lock in 3rd and 4th, works great. Just a heads up for the next go-round. Randy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2009, 04:06 PM
Mart54's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MI.
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pure Hot Rods
Hey guys, For future reference, the 2004R has a governor pressure switch that will work the same as the 4th gear switch and allow lock in 3rd if you have enough MPH, this make the lock up more like the factory but does not require a computer or additional wiring. The converter apply oil is blocked in 1st and 2nd so it will only lock in 3rd and 4th, works great. Just a heads up for the next go-round. Randy
So how is it done? You will still need to power the solenoid someway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2009, 04:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Aledo il
Age: 55
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Same as with the 4th gear switch, just useing governor pressure instead of 4th gear. Randy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 tcc lockup theory supercoop Transmission - Rearend 3 02-01-2009 05:16 PM
getting a custom 2004r built, what should I get done darkostoj Transmission - Rearend 4 10-24-2008 07:17 PM
200 metric/200r 2004r Eric64 Transmission - Rearend 1 06-07-2007 07:19 PM
non lockup vs lockup converters? Sagacious Transmission - Rearend 2 03-25-2005 05:33 PM
Wiring Stall Conveter lockup on 2004r Transmission sb72elcamino350 Transmission - Rearend 2 03-02-2005 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.