220 to 110 volt air compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:25 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maui,Hawaii
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
220 to 110 volt air compressor

Hi Guys,

Need some help. I have an air compressor that is run on 220. I need to convert it to 110 volt. Can I just change the cord?Thanks in advance.

Thom

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2007, 06:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: snellville, georgia
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
More than likely you will need to change the motor. Some motors can be hooked up for 110 or 220 operation depending upon how you connect the motor leads. Check on the side of the existing motor. There should be a nameplate that will indicate whether it is a dual voltage motor or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:12 AM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
It will use less electricity and run better on 220.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 06:10 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry Highrise
It will use less electricity and run better on 220.

Not true, it'll use the exact same amout of electricity and perform the same as long as everything is sized correctly. You're paying by KW's not amperage or voltage. The andvantage to 240 volt vs 120 volt is that the amperage is 1/2, which means you can use a smaller gauge of wire to do the same work and being what the price of copper is these days, that can be a significant amount of savings!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2007, 05:15 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mich
Posts: 166
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Whether or not it can be converted to run on 110v also has to do with how big of a motor it is. My 5 hp motor is plated 22-25 amps at 220v & I have measured it at 19-19.5 amps with a clamp meter. This compressor would use 38-39 amps at 110v to run & the startup current would be 90 amps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:59 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,148
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Most UL-rated electrical components have wiring diagrams on them somewhere. If you pull the electrical box apart there should be wiring diagrams for both voltages. If not, go online and find the wiring for it. It doesn't matter if its the same exact model or not, its all wired the same for any of the dual-voltage motors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveU
Whether or not it can be converted to run on 110v also has to do with how big of a motor it is. My 5 hp motor is plated 22-25 amps at 220v & I have measured it at 19-19.5 amps with a clamp meter. This compressor would use 38-39 amps at 110v to run & the startup current would be 90 amps.

Actually, FLA (Full Load Amps) on a 5 hp, 120v motor would be about 56 amps and starting current, which is basically the same as LRA (Locked Rotor Amps) is about 336 amps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
choosing a compressor oldred Garage - Tools 12 03-14-2012 09:40 PM
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 09:36 AM
$88.88 air compressor baddbob Body - Exterior 1 02-08-2006 08:28 PM
shooting clear vinvango73 Body - Exterior 3 10-28-2005 11:24 PM
Hopping up an air compressor?? LanceM Garage - Tools 5 02-18-2005 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.