Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Garage - Tools (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/garage-tools/)
-   -   220 V issue (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/220-v-issue-167602.html)

kleen56 10-30-2009 09:04 PM

220 V issue

I have an air compressor for my garage that runs on 220V. The plug on the compressor is for a 20 amp design and ran good at my other house. I have a new home that doesn't have the 220V in the garage, but has the wash room with a 220V outlet for a dryer. I was told that plug is a 30 Amp. Here's the electrical problem... Can I run a plug from the 30 amp to a 20 amp air compressor without having any issues? I could run a new 220V line with a 20 amp breaker but they want like $400-500 to run a line. My air compressor doesn't cost that much :welcome:

Any electricians that give some advice? Thanks.

Nim-Rod 10-30-2009 09:13 PM

I am not an electrician, however, you can run a 20 amp compressor on a 30 amp circuit without a problem. Circuits are designed with the appropriate breaker to protect the wiring and not the equipment on it. The compressor will run well on the dryer circuit.

302 Z28 10-31-2009 08:05 AM

That is perfectly acceptable, but you must run the properly sized wire for that 30 amp breaker to your 20 amp plug. A 30 amp breaker requires #10 AWG wire.

Vince

kleen56 10-31-2009 09:36 AM

Thanks for the info. I noticed they sell the plug and wire in 6 foot length specific for dryers. I could buy additional 10 gauge 220 wire and make an extension cord to my air compressor. I figure the cost with wiring and a plug will be about $60 which is better than $500. It'll be nice to be able to use my air tools again as well.
Ed