220v mig welder extension cord? - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2003, 06:50 PM
fatherandson53's Avatar
Father of Many
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Marion,Ohio
Age: 39
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We just ran across 65 feet of Essex Royal 10-4 SOW 600V cable for free(the best price). This should work for what I am doing would'nt you think? My connects are three wire but, I could just cut back the fourth correct?
Thanks,
Mario and Tyler

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2003, 07:02 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
That will work fine. Good buy on the wire

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2003, 07:48 PM
fatherandson53's Avatar
Father of Many
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Marion,Ohio
Age: 39
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks to all once again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2003, 03:21 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
OLE BULL!

Dad! is that you???
Gee imagine, two electrodes and we're both named bull. shheet!

anywaz, 10 is rated in ye ol happy code book at 35-40 amps depending on your insulation. although it should be fused at no more than a 30 amp ckt bkr. Dont know the needs of your welder but it will say on the nameplate. yes you can just cut off or not use the neutral. happy welding. my welder says it uses 53 amps on the primary side. (a stick welder) have never had any trouble with it so far on a 50A breaker but ya aint spozed to do that!! i used 10 guage because i got it free too. just keep an eye on it. feel it once in a while. put it on a 30A breaker to be really safe. i dont think it will trip. you can use the one you normally use for your dryer if you dont want to buy another one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2003, 03:42 PM
s15laynrubba's Avatar
www.s10v8.com
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Trinity, NC
Age: 44
Posts: 74
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The MM175 will draw 19.5A from the 230V line.Hope that helps...Jay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2003, 06:53 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
It is common NEC (National Electrical Code) practice to protect #10 AWG wire with a 30 amp fuse or breaker, #12 is 20 amp, #14 is 15 amp. These figures can vary slightly depending on the wire type and installation., but as a general rule these figures are good

It is also standard engineering practice to size wire at 125% of full load. At 19.5 amps with 4/C #10, you are way under the max load....start welding.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2003, 08:24 PM
fatherandson53's Avatar
Father of Many
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Marion,Ohio
Age: 39
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yep,
started welding today everything went great so far. I did notice the wire when I was wrapping it up was warm in spots but, welded great.
Thanks,
Mario(Dad)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2003, 10:47 AM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,529
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
oh yeah, just one small note to everybody. when using an extention cord, if you leave any of it coiled up, IT WILL CUT THE AMPACITY OF THE WIRE so always unroll it as much as possible when using something with a big load, like your welder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2003, 10:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Greetings,

I realize that this is a little late for the originator however for

230 Volt Extension Cord features 25' of 8/3 power cable with molded NEMA 6.50 (pin) male (plug) and female (receptacle) at each end.

also available in optional 50' length.

This extension is ideal for your 230 Volt welder and will mate up with all standard Miller, Hobart and ESAB 230 Volt welders with factory supplied power cords and plugs.

FREE STANDARD GROUND SHIPPING WITHIN CONTINENTAL U.S.


http://store.cyberweld.com/230voexco25.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2003, 01:37 PM
k2mooch's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Age: 35
Posts: 174
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I put mine together from a local electrical supply house. I got 20ft (I forgot what guage) but it's for outdoor use. The thick rubber jacket is what determines the price in most cases. As long as you're using it inside a shop in dry conditions, you don't really need it. But you never really know when a puddle shows up in the garage, so I got the outdoor one.


MoocH
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2003, 11:19 PM
lluciano77's Avatar
Short changed on common sense
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: california
Age: 37
Posts: 3,548
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by bullheimer
oh yeah, just one small note to everybody. when using an extention cord, if you leave any of it coiled up, IT WILL CUT THE AMPACITY OF THE WIRE so always unroll it as much as possible when using something with a big load, like your welder
Dah! Come on. Not the transformer theory. You should see how many miles of sealtight flex are coiled up under computer floors. You don't loose anything worth talking about.

Quote:
Originally posted by 302/Z28
It is common NEC (National Electrical Code) practice to protect #10 AWG wire with a 30 amp fuse or breaker, #12 is 20 amp, #14 is 15 amp. These figures can vary slightly depending on the wire type and installation., but as a general rule these figures are good

It is also standard engineering practice to size wire at 125% of full load. At 19.5 amps with 4/C #10, you are way under the max load....start welding.

Vince
That is out of 310-16, but you have to use the correction factor for more than three current carrying conductors in 310-15(b)(2)(a), which is 80%. You are still okay at #10.

Last edited by lluciano77; 12-08-2003 at 11:19 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2004, 07:52 AM
Hellzapoppin's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somerset. Uk
Posts: 41
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think you'll find that the biggest problem with leaving extension cables coiled up is the danger of fire caused by the cable acting as a coil. Mig welders draw a lot more amps than computer cables.
During my time in the services as a lineman I actually saw a drum of partially uncoiled cable melt because of this.

Better safe than sorry.

Hellz
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2004, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montvale, NJ
Age: 58
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help from a electrician!

I'm a licensed electrician by trade in NJ. As far as welders go in the code book, the gauge of the wire is determined BY THE SIZE OF THE WELDER AND DUTY CYCLE, NOT THE CIRCUIT BREAKER SIZE. Welders aren't continious duty. They have a very short duty cycle and as such, the wire is derated in size. It could be very possible to use #10 AMG for a 60 amp welder! At 240V, I would not be worried about voltage drop. Comparing a 240 volt circuit compared to a 120 volt circuit, both operating at the same wattage, the 240 volt circuit could be 4 times longer in distance before voltage drop becomes a problem. Ohms law.

Most likely you'll need 10/3 SJ or SJO cord, 50 foot will be no problem. You do not need a neutral because you do not have a 120 volt load.

Welders are covered under article 630 in the NEC

Last edited by Huskinhano; 01-08-2004 at 08:24 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2004, 08:25 AM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,388
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Hey you wire heads keep talking. This is one of the most informative threads I have ever read on this site!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2004, 11:02 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
And...it will not hurt if the wire remains coiled.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
home shop tools, welder

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.