28/29 vs. 32 roadster - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2005, 01:02 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

28/29 vs. 32 roadster

Hello everyone, I am new to the bulletin board so Hello again.
I am a newbie to rodding and none of my friends have any roadsters so I am going to pick your guys's brains. I am thinking of starting a build next year so I am just doing some research. I have been going to shows and reading some books on hotrod building and I have an idea of what I want. I realy like the 32 coupe, as do many. I know one should build what one likes but then the budget comes into play. I have been thinking around 20-25K for new parts and running hopefully a lot less. This is still a little high for me but just may be possible. Thats not including paint and interior.

I have seen that www.brookvilleroadster.com has a 28/29 model A for around 6k+, but the 32 roadster is around 10.5K+. Why the big difference?

This my plan:

chassis - http://www.so-calspeedshop.com/index2.html 32 roadster
around 3k

front suspension - www.posiesrodsandcustoms.com they have a complete front end ( basic no chrome ) including disc brakes for around $1700

rear end - http://www.so-calspeedshop.com/index2.html 9" the ladder bars with Posies springs.1500 - 2000? may be more including the gears. What size gears would you guys say? including drum brakes.

engine - http://www.enginefactory.com/ ,
http://www.enginefactory.com/350hp.htm I am thinking a small block Chevy with 350hp turn key motor give or take 5k. Any one ever use this company?

Transmission - http://www.jegs.com/cgi-bin/ncommerc...29&prmenbr=361 around 2-3k with clutch and housing

body - http://www.limeworksspeedshop.com/in...wse&pageid=101 around 9k.