283 wont fire - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:15 PM
hunt101's Avatar
Learning something every day
 

Last journal entry: Adding some tunes
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: louisiana
Age: 24
Posts: 36
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
283 wont fire

I got a 62 impala with a 283 that will not seem to fire on anything. I set the points,cleaned and set plug gaps, distributor wiring. I does backfire some when cranking. The guy I bought it from said it has 10,000 miles on a rebuild, new fuel pump, new carb,and a new distributor cap. Even if I pour gas in the carb it still wont fire (though it does seem to backfire more). It has been ran twice a week for a year and just quit a few weeks ago. Any help would be appreciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:43 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,654
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
Best place for points is in the trash. I`d get a conversion unit to convert it to electronic, not sure if the fire wall will allow the use of a HEI, so the conversion unit is likely the way to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:48 PM
spinn's Avatar
Fought beside and with you 92'
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,375
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 78 Times in 76 Posts
did you pull the distributor? it could be a tooth off, 180 off. whatis it timed at?

put a extra spark plug on one of the wires and have a buddy crank.hod the plug next to the block with insulated pliers. did it spark? did you set the points with a matchbook?thats about the only way i know to do it


did you fill the floatbowls with fuel?do it through the vent tube dont flood it. its a new carb what kind ? it the accelerator pump linkage set correctly? how about the secondary throttle plate? what about the idle screws are they 1 - 1.5 turnsout from seated?i have always run manual chokes so im not the best authority on that if its electric. just a few ideas.

Last edited by spinn; 11-28-2004 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:49 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,857
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 247 Times in 201 Posts
But, it should run with the points.

Check your timing, sounds like it is way out. Another possibility is that it is cross firing in the cap causing ignition at the wrong plug at the wrong time.

Have you had it running since you got it?
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:50 PM
hunt101's Avatar
Learning something every day
 

Last journal entry: Adding some tunes
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: louisiana
Age: 24
Posts: 36
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would love too but here's the deal. I'm 15 and make 50 bucks a week, so after 1600 dollars worth of broken and slightly rusted metal, I dont have much money to spend currently. Maybe In the future but for now, I hate all things electronic (work on 140,000 mile 98 silvrerado you will too lol.) Thanks though, it is in my plans. Wow, 3 new post in the time it took me to type this. Also, I havent pulled the distributor yey but I will try.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 06:58 PM
spinn's Avatar
Fought beside and with you 92'
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,375
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 78 Times in 76 Posts
NO DONT PULL THE DIZZY!

at least not if you didnt in the tune up. recheck the firing order,sound like a plug could be crossed(if you pulled all the plug wires). im used t BBCRYSLER so i think the dizzy rotor spins clockwise.just a warning?

if some thing is messed up and you have to start over. when you cold time you have to be at TDC compression stroke.

Last edited by spinn; 11-28-2004 at 07:03 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:04 PM
hunt101's Avatar
Learning something every day
 

Last journal entry: Adding some tunes
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: louisiana
Age: 24
Posts: 36
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I ran It 3 weeks ago when I bought it. I ran it hard to blow the carbon buildup out the motor (which was a hell of a lot). It ran for the next week better than ever till it just quit. I doubt I blew up anything because it Did not turn a ton of rpm just enough to do the job. I found a very old chiltons for all 62 cars in my house when my family moved in, lucky me, and set up the plug wire dividers like it said to prevent crossfire, but it is a possibility. The #1 cylinder plug has a stong spark. I can check the rest after school tomorrow. The carb is a holley remanufactured rochester 2bbl. It hasent been tuned but it ran before with it so it should at least start. I also have redone the plug wiring about 20 times (no I am not joking) so it is almost surely right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:07 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,857
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 247 Times in 201 Posts
If you do pull the distributer, make sure that your timing mark is on 0 degrees, and take notice where the rotor is pointing. It should be pointed on the terminal on the cap that goes to #1 cylinder. If it is pointing at #6, turn the crank over once until it is at #1. If it is pointing anywhere else, your timing is out, or your timing chain has jumped.

What did the plugs look like when you pulled them?
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:11 PM
hunt101's Avatar
Learning something every day
 

Last journal entry: Adding some tunes
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: louisiana
Age: 24
Posts: 36
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Complete newb question (go ahead laugh, I dont care) but what do I do to turn the crank to set timing. First time of course. The plugs didnt look bad, but I will replace them anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:20 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,857
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 247 Times in 201 Posts
If there isn't a bug bolt head on the front of the crank (probably isn't), take the plugs out and turn the front pully by hand to line up the timing mark. When turning it clockwise you should be able to feel air coming out of #1 plug hole just before the mark on the harmonic balancer gets to 0 on the timing tab. This is when the rotor should line up with #1 plug on the cap.

Anywhere else and you have a timing problem.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:31 PM
hunt101's Avatar
Learning something every day
 

Last journal entry: Adding some tunes
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: louisiana
Age: 24
Posts: 36
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks poncho, I will try that in the afternoon after school and post back. I have to fix my fuel pump first though, I managed to break that too today. Luckily I only had about 3 gallons in the tank wich is now in the back yard lol. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2004, 07:41 PM
Novaman78's Avatar
Kill It & Grill It
 

Last journal entry: New door panels
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bonne Terre Missouri
Age: 27
Posts: 219
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by poncho62


Check your timing, sounds like it is way out. Another possibility is that it is cross firing in the cap causing ignition at the wrong plug at the wrong time.


Yes it sounds like its way out.. When i first got the engine in my Nova put in and tried to start it it was spitting and sputtering out the carb and i checked and it was 180* out of time. But if he didn't mess with the timing and it is that far out but it did run when he had it doesn't that sound like a badly worn timing chain?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2004, 07:41 PM
hunt101's Avatar
Learning something every day
 

Last journal entry: Adding some tunes
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: louisiana
Age: 24
Posts: 36
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok today I bought new plugs and installed them. I also fixed the fuel pump. Something interesting though- The plugs that were in the car were AC r44xls and had a much longer shank than the plugs I replaced them with AC R45S plugs which were recommended in the 61 manual. After I got them installed I looked in the supplementary book for 62 models and it said to use AC 46 plugs. Will they work? I will try to do the timing this weekend but I have a question. Do I change timing using the timing chain or take the distributor out and realign it. Obviously this is my first time doing much engine work so I need some mentoring. But hey it's better than just having another kid in a riced out civic right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:05 PM
Novaman78's Avatar
Kill It & Grill It
 

Last journal entry: New door panels
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bonne Terre Missouri
Age: 27
Posts: 219
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Im not sure about the plugs. So im assuming you haven't tried to start it with the new plugs in it? First you need to get piston #1 at TDC then get the rotor on the distributor pointing at #1 piston (make sure that the oil pump shaft is turned to where it needs to be, use a long flat blade screw driver to turn it.) Put the distributor back in with the hold down clamp tight enough to hold the distributor still but loose enough to turn the dist. by hand. Hook timing light to #1 plug wire and start car, put timing light on the timing tab and see where it reads. it should be at 0 If it is at 0 then turn dist. clockwise to advance your timing to 12*. It should run fairly good there. Im not sure if i explained that right or if you understand but someone else here will help if you don't understand.

Last edited by Novaman78; 11-29-2004 at 08:14 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:03 PM
garretthes's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Rear Axle swap #2 (74 Camaro) part 6
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nashville
Age: 50
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you do decide to change the distributer to HEI you will have to modify the firewall. I did the same thing on my mom's 64 10 years ago. The larger HEI dist hits the firewall solidly. She also had the 283. The main reason for changing was she is not a mechanic. The points system requires more maintenance. She was much happier after the change.
You should learn the points system well. Then maybe change after you have mastered it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.