2x4 tuning - Flatlined chassis dyno - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 11:13 AM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 277
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
2x4 tuning - Flatlined chassis dyno

Had my 355 sbc 41 Willys on a chassis dyno. Didn’t do any tuning at the dyno, just wanted to see how my ear n eye tune was doing. I was somewhat surprised to find the read out flat lined at around 4200 RPM. Max power is 319.4 and torque is 389.8. It runs good and turns back to back 12.4s @ 101. Specs are: 355 sbc, 11:1, comp cams xr292r kit, roller rockers etc, ported 2.02 double humps, 2x4 Holley 450 cfm, mechanical secondary’s on a Wieand tunnel ram. 1 5/8” gasser headers down to 2 ½” flow masters. Full advance 36 degrees @ 3000, 700r4, 390 gears, M/T et street radials at 30”, Race weight is 3257 lbs.
I’m thinking I need some tuning or even bigger carbs, maybe 650 double pumpers as I feel it wouldn’t have enough vacuum to run vacuum secondary’s at the track. I’ve included a pic of the dyno sheet and as you can see the a/f ratio looks pretty good which is what throws me off and leaves me at a loss as to what to do.
I ordered a LM-2 meter to help with tuning, which raises a question, with a true twin exhaust (no X pipe, etc) is there a need to take readings from both exhaust? Thinking about getting there clamp on exhaust pipe tool also, the one that slides into the tailpipe. Is it needed?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dyno 01.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	316.9 KB
ID:	68941  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 12:01 PM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 42
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
Thats is a strange looking dyno graph but it looks like a flat power curve. It maybe carbs just choking out.

When you installed the cam did you degree it to make sure it was installed at zero. I am wondering if its not a few degrees off.

Carbs may need to be upgraded not sure about holley 450cfm are they race style carbs or small street setup for hotrods that dont need dual carbs. That may be an issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 01:00 PM
Greg T's Avatar
www.krusinklassics.net
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Escanaba, MI.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,160
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 21
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Looks to me like it's running out of lungs.



.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 01:57 PM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 277
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Yep, degreed cam at 4. The carbs are race 450's. Kind of thing I'm running out of carb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 02:47 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: was hoping for better than this
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 265
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 16
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
not so sure the carbs are the issue...
2 450's is more than enough...
I'd point finger at the camels

and maybe lack of signal to the carbs.. (ie the intakes to big for those heads..)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 03:10 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: was hoping for better than this
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 265
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 16
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
900 cfm is a choke with heads that even ported by a pro will be hard pressed to use 900 cfm.. anywhere near the rpm that his power flat lines..
the heads ports are the choke, and the huge intake area isn't helping that fact
I'm willing to bet it'll make more power everywhere with a single plane and one 450 than whats on it now..
then put a 650 on that single plane and make even more..

tunnel ram 4500-8500 rpm..
way to big..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 04:46 PM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 42
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by E.Furgal View Post
900 cfm is a choke with heads that even ported by a pro will be hard pressed to use 900 cfm.. anywhere near the rpm that his power flat lines..
the heads ports are the choke, and the huge intake area isn't helping that fact
I'm willing to bet it'll make more power everywhere with a single plane and one 450 than whats on it now..
then put a 650 on that single plane and make even more..

tunnel ram 4500-8500 rpm..
way to big..
Well if you look at this a diferent way those haeds made more power in stock engines from the factory. So to say its the heads i would say they are not the issue. They are also really good heads. Most aftermarket heads start with the double hump design and add metal to allow for different port shape known to flow better. But you can make them flow pretty dam good as they are. But even with just simple clean up they wil flow enough for 450+ hp.

But two 450 cfm carbs dont flow 900 cfm. Closer to 700 and maybe not so good at that. Depending on choke plates and type of choke used. Cfm rating is just the hole not the carb measured.

Edelbrock 1405 are pretty cheap on ebay used or new. Manual choke can be removed for a little more cfm if need be. Easy to tune and little restrictions. Might be able to get some support on signal needed and low speed tuning. Even before purchase. You can run a sales rep around a little to find out what you need to buy to make it all work correctly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 04:51 PM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 42
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
Victor manifold and a dominator is what will fix it for sure. Thats setup can be good for 500+ with msot dominator flavors. Even the victor jr is pretty well matched for the cam.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 05:06 PM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 277
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88 View Post
I would expect a lot higher MPH ( limited choked off horsepower) and the dyno shows that too.

Those tiny carbs that were never intended for a tunnel ram are killing it.
650-750 double pumpers or two 750 edelbrocks. There may be more,other issues killing off the top end too.
Peak engine HP should be in the 6500-6800rpm range.

Chassis dyno can show issues with trans converter, trans internal friction, trans High gear clutch/hyd fluid issues
common to th700r4's at high rpms. Tires can have a big effect on Chassis dyno HP. Exhaust system Flowmasters are one of the worst mufflers. Cars always run faster when these are uncapped. Again tunnel rams need to breath deep. Restricted carb and restrictive mufflers kill it.

correct valvesprings? fuel system flow volume @ WOT.

Start by ditching those carbs. A tunnel ram needs to breath deep.
Your car should be running 115MPH ++ I build junk krylon rebuild 355's with ported 305 heads that run faster.

Lock out the distributor mechanical advance . It will idle and run a lot better.
You are missing at least 10 MPH. what is the 1/8th mile ET and MPH? 60ft?

For sure ! I knew that 4200 wasn’t right. Lol The tranny is a maddog build with vette servo etc, 3500 stall from maddog also. I rarely get into third on the track. M/T says not to run their tires after being on a dyno so I put some 15’s on that I had laying around. They were a good 2” shorter in height
The flowmasters are the 10 series, still bad? What would you suggest? Comp roller springs, lifters, rocker arms. Running 6 lbs fuel pressure with ele pump and ½” lines. Doesn’t feel like it’s starving for fuel but may be right on the verge? Will uncap the headers at next track time.
MSD 6al and distributer, still lock out the advance? Mechanical - no vacuum advance. To be sure, ur talking bout locking it to full dist advance? What should total be, at what RPM? 2-3 degrees under kick-back?
1/8 mile: 7.8578 @ 88.83 mph 60ft. 1.8 then it took 4.5 seconds to ¼ mile ! LOL
Been away from it for a long time, read a lot of your responses and I’m impressed by your knowledge. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 06:22 PM
wwilliams181's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Proctor, Ar
Posts: 87
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'd put a couple of nitrous plates on it and let it eat!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2012, 07:55 PM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,665
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 365
Thanked 862 Times in 824 Posts
what happens to your fuel pressure? 13.5 is lean but acceptable,just wondering if the fuel volume is adequate? low 12s at 101 is not very good horse power wise but very good et wise.Its acting like a very small engine for mph but et indicates it jumps off the line? whats your 60 foot time? cam specs? time on valve springs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2012, 07:17 AM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 277
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88 View Post
In a previous thread you said the car ran 107MPH.... Which is it 101 MPH or 107 MPH?
That was a one time thing. Never happened again. Turned a lot of 101's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2012, 11:43 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: was hoping for better than this
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 265
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 16
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
not fer nothing.. but could you all be barking up the wrong tree..
the one lonely 107mph is telling me.. it might not be intake/fuel related, and yes I could be wrong.. as I'm here and his car is there..
but are the valves floating.. just a friendly guess..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2012, 12:11 PM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 277
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88 View Post
Some times you get a funky MPH on drag time slips.
I remember a long time ago my friend got a 130MPH on hs 12sec car once.
It does happen.

But from your numbers the car is wanting to go 113 Mph in the 1/4
but something is killing it.
What about the 1/8th mile data? what is the variance in the 1/8th MPH?
88.83MPH is a good 1/8th mile MPH (its at least in the program)
The car starts out well but flattens out at some point about 1/2 way down.

101 MPH sucks for that car. (there is a problem)

any 1000ft data? All this stuff can be analyzed. You definatly have a top end power robber, to find.
The air fuel ratio needs work. (those carbs suck on a T ram anyway)
(carbs-fuel system, (volume, limitiation))
could be spark scatter/crossfire. (ignition cap ionization, usually from too large plug gap and or too hot a coil, or poor cap/rotor phasing)
could be a fubared transmission or torque converter (no top end MPH)
could be a valvetrain issue.
The mufflers definatly suck- you will see from testing
once you find the other cork(s).

Your car should be running like a raped ape, but its got a problem.

Can you post the complete data from some time slips?
Per ur suggestion in another post I used irfanview to scan, resize etc trying to get this pic readable. Sure you can manage it. lol Seems I told a lie, or "misspoke" as the politicians say "lol" as u can see by the time slips. Hoping next year the track can afford some ink for their printer. hee hee Really apprecate your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mokan Aug 2012.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	68958  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2012, 01:30 PM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 277
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88 View Post
A good suggestion...all these areas need to be looked at.
I've lost a few vavles in the past in cars and motorcycles. Doesn't seem to be any vavle float. Of course if they're not hiting anything. hee hee No really, don't seem to be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine dyno to chassis dyno numbers dedub Engine 3 06-19-2011 08:56 PM
Is it worth Dyno tuning? Fast 4 Door Engine 8 07-24-2010 10:35 AM
Dyno tuning Process HELP! Ratchet Engine 15 02-25-2008 11:57 AM
Dyno Tuning? 54 Chevy Engine 3 02-27-2005 10:32 PM
One Stop Dyno Tuning ProPCMTuner Engine 1 12-09-2002 04:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.