3.1v6 to v8 wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2007, 10:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ms
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
3.1v6 to v8 wiring

hey guys
i just picked up a 90 firebird born a v6 i'm going to put in a late 70's non computer motor and th350 trans w/shift kit and 2000 stall i want to get rid of all the stuff i dont need once i have the correct wires for alt,dist thats where i need help good gosh i think the bird has more wire under the hood than my 72 truck has all together. any help would be great.
thanks don

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 04:02 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Do you have Smog testing for your area?


Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ms
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
no smog testing just safty ins. but most of the places only check your horn and lights
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 06:08 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

To start and run the engine, the only things you need is the starter wires, (should be the same for both engines)..and the "BATT" wire for the HEI..

This will give you crank and fire..

Next you'll need to isolate the gauge group, and find the PROPER resistive senders (probably won't match your 70 engine senders) and install & Hook them up.

After that, not knowing what charging system you have / had...If it's a 12 SI GM alternator, you need one wire to the solenoid battery terminal from the alternator output lug, (fuse link it!) and the #3 red terminal jumped over to the alternator output lug, the brown wire #2 terminal goes to the charge lamp and ignition switch.

That's it..

You can strip the rest out..It's computer controlled senders..as well as the computer.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2007, 09:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ms
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey doc
thanks for the info, on the gauge cluster i was'nt planning on using any of the factory gauges am i still going to need to run power through the cluster to have head/tail lights and such? the alt, that is on the motor i'm putting in has a big wire going to the pos side of batt with a fuse and a smaller wire jumped from the lug to a side term. thats it.
thanks don
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:36 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnk5chevy
hey doc
thanks for the info, on the gauge cluster i was'nt planning on using any of the factory gauges am i still going to need to run power through the cluster to have head/tail lights and such? the alt, that is on the motor i'm putting in has a big wire going to the pos side of batt with a fuse and a smaller wire jumped from the lug to a side term. thats it.
thanks don
Doc here,

Gauges, Nope..

But I Wouldn't run a new engine without an engine monitoring group..

I just hate it when I break in a cam at 2000 RPM for 30 minutes only to find through the smoke, it only had 2 psi of oil pressure and stuck thermostat or no water...

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ms
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey doc
i'm running gauges just not the stock ones.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:43 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnk5chevy
hey doc
i'm running gauges just not the stock ones.

Doc here,

Then just don't hook up the senders, and pull the INST fuse.


Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a v8 up in a s 10 blazer wolfinwv Electrical 5 01-22-2006 02:11 AM
1967 Mustang 302 V8 wiring problem bruce banther Introduce Yourself 4 11-13-2004 11:25 AM
s-10 v8 wiring tonydharley Electrical 0 03-14-2004 08:26 PM
87 s15 v8 wiring gogreen44 Electrical 2 11-13-2002 08:01 AM
87 s15 v8 wiring gogreen44 Electrical 1 11-11-2002 04:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.