Hot Rod Forum banner

3 ton floor jack

14K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  schnitz 
#1 ·
Hi,
I am new to the Hot Rodders forum and I am hoping to get input to help me in buying a 3-ton floor jack. My husband has said that he wants one to use for working on his classic 69 Camaro. I was wondering if anyone can offer some advice about brands or retailers. My husband suggested Craftsman, but I read a customer review and a man said that he doesn't like the lack of control when the jack is released. I truly appreciate any and all responses!!

Thanks!
Heidi (hot rodder's wife)

#2 ·
I have a Harbor Freight 3 ton and it is just fine for the $60 that it cost... there is better out there... Ottowana Tool Company and Linclion come to mind, but there really pricey... and the jack is only going to hold the vehicle weight till you get the stands under it anyway

#6 ·
Fergusonic said:
Whichever one you decide on; accompany it with a couple nice Jack Stands. (if he doesn't already have some)

I'll second this point. For safety's sake, DO NOT SKIMP ON THE JACK STANDS. While working under a car, there is nothing worse than being crushed to death by an inferior or defective stand. Like many safety related items, they should have the welds on them inspected for cracks or weakened/distorted bases on a "per use" schedule.

In a while, Chet.

#7 ·
3 ton jack

Thanks guys I really appreciate your help--I think I might go with the one from Harbor Freight--he wants one that is longer than the jack that he has now. Thanks for the suggestion of the jack stands--I know he has those!
Thanks again!

#10 ·
hshad7 said:
Hi,