300 I-6 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2008, 08:53 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: ls1
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eaton
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
300 I-6

I got a 1983 ford I-6 with the electronic ignition. Does anyone know how to wire it up(hot wire) it without the brain box?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2008, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,415
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 57 Posts
you need some sort of a brain box to trigger it, it is a Duraspark II and uses a magnetic trigger which will not work on it's own.. GM HEI can be used, and you just zip tie the modual to an old computer heat sinc, with a little thermo compound on the back.. just wire it like this
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2008, 06:57 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: ls1
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eaton
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
didnt work

I tried that set up above, it didn't work. I have three outlet wires from the distributor I thought the third(black w/white stripe) was a tach output? Maybe not, any other ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2008, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,415
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 57 Posts
the third wire is an unused wire when using the GM HEI..

this is the only way to wire it w/o the DS box.. unless you do what I did and run an MSD system... my '66 200 is running a DSII, fired with a MSD 6 BTM as the engine is turbocharged
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford 300 six cylinder custom head Chris Kemp Engine 17 03-02-2010 12:19 PM
300 I6 Maverick? 1cleanmav! Engine 7 09-19-2007 11:00 AM
Got this carb in trade, only 300 miles on it.... he says. killerformula Hotrodders' Lounge 7 10-19-2004 05:42 PM
everything i should know about the 300 aceshigh505 Engine 11 09-07-2003 05:08 PM
reaching the great 300 mark camino_man Engine 5 05-14-2003 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.