305 cam - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-2007, 02:01 AM
V305's Avatar
On the Border
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Juarez, Mexico
Age: 28
Posts: 98
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
305 cam

Just a little question for you guys, been thinkin' , "can you put a 350 cam on a 305?, and, "can you put a 305 cam on a 350 chevy?, and "why not?"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-2007, 05:00 AM
Hippie's Avatar
Analog man in a digital world.
 

Last journal entry: HEI comparison.
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,255
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
If you're talking factory cams then in many cases they use the same cam, some versions of each had a slightly different cam but they can still be interchanged. There are applications where a cam from one might not work as well in the other such as carb vs. EFI but it will fit and the engine will run.

In the case of performance cams the same cam will operate in a higher RPM range in a 305 than it would in a 350 because of the difference in engine displacement and vice versa. 305's also seem to like a little tighter Lobe Seperation Angle than the 350.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-2007, 11:46 PM
V305's Avatar
On the Border
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Juarez, Mexico
Age: 28
Posts: 98
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Hippie that helps a lot. So, if they can be interchanged, a stock 305 would performe better on a 350 stock cam? or its not necessary. and what about a 400 stock cam on a 305, maybe Im crazy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2007, 01:23 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,643
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 56 Times in 53 Posts
Your thinking that a bigger engine has a bigger cam, this isn`t really so in most cases from the 72 "smog" era and up, most small blocks rolling off the factory lines had the same cams, Just because the engine was bigger didn`t mean the cam was, When it`s the factory, anything and everything that could be done to save money was, so why would you make multiple cams if you could make one that would serve all? In some cases where the cam was different it was usually in lobe seperation, not in lift or duration figures. When Fuel injection came along the cams were changed, the "performance" engines of the 80`s some had bigger cams, but these cams worked with the throttle body injection and tuned port injection used at the time, they would also work in a carbed engine. Take point in the 4.3 V6 that came stock in my 92 chevy pickup, it had a roller cam from the factory, the thing was so pathetic it may as well have had round lobes, but the 4.3 high output that came in some S-10`s were bigger than the isky cam I replaced the stocker with. Most times now when you go to the parts store and ask for a stock replacement cam for a say a 79 350 chevy engine, it`ll be the same cam it pulls up for a 79 chevy 305. They did use some different cams in the early to mid 70`s, anything to try and make it smog legal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2007, 09:46 PM
Countilaw's Avatar
Cox Custom Cars
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cleburne, TX
Age: 63
Posts: 498
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a 305 SBC in a 93 Caprice. I put in flat top pistons, and a 350 LT1 cam. I notice a big difference in low end
torque right away. I didn't do much more inside the engine except port and polished the heads and manifolds installed a TB spacers.

I really like the way it runs now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cam intended for 350 only in a 305 camaro420 Engine 9 12-26-2005 11:12 PM
305 cam jo5hi3 Engine 1 11-02-2004 04:38 AM
IGNITION and CAM TIMING sum87mustang Engine 3 07-11-2003 07:52 PM
RV cam in a 305? Chevyguy305r Engine 12 03-06-2003 05:57 PM
86 - 305 what cam? Iroc'o Engine 2 10-09-2002 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.