327 with draft tube ??? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2003, 05:27 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

327 with draft tube ???

I have a 1963 327 with a hole behind the intake manafold. As I recall this is the draft tube for pressure build up in the crankcase. The motor didn't come with the draft tube and I would like to retain it along with the fill tube in the offenhouser intake. Any idea where to get a replacement or can I fab any pipe to go out the opening and run down the back side of the engine. I do like the idea of valve covers with no vents. Is this a bad idea and if not what should i do for the draft tube?? Thanks may be simple but I am new at all this engine work. Thanks Ed and for all the help in the past

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-12-2003, 05:33 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 21

You can easily adapt a PCV valve in that hole to a port on the intake manifold. Th engine needs some sort of vent and the PCV valve is much better than going back to the road tube.
Old 09-12-2003, 05:39 PM
Troll Hunter

Last photo:

Arrow

Definetly go with the PCV, if you like the look of the tube weld it shut and make a hidden PCV.It's a much better system, probably the first emmisions control device.
Old 09-12-2003, 06:13 PM

Hello,

Im not sure of the year they changed but the later 60s had a pyramid looking device in that hole that did connect to a pcv valve.

There is also a filler neck with a pcv (corvettes and other 350 horses i think) and a breather in back.