Hot Rod Forum banner

327 head valve size and cam question.

6K views 44 replies 12 participants last post by  64nailhead 
#1 ·
Hi Guys

I'm rebuilding a 327 for my 1956 chevy truck 3100.

I want to rebuild the engine myself, I was a diesel mechanic last century so I have some skills, but none in head cam/tec stuff.

I've done a lot of browsing, reading but not quite got the stuff I need.

Ive got a Small journal 327, std bore needs a rebuild (no I don't want a crate engine thanks all the same). edelbrock rpm intake, HEI dizzy, no headers or carb yet.
th350 trans, 2x 10 bolt diff's - 2.7 open and 3.4 posi, plan to run 265-70-15.

The problem I'm having is the type of heads available in New Zealand is limited, and importing them is expensive, try 2 times the cost in the states.

I have found some heads $1270 for a set, but come with 2.02 intake 180cc, 1.6 exhaust 70cc and 64cc chamber, are these too big for my combo? or can I make these work with the right cam, carb, exhaust or rear end gearing choice?

Oh I better mention fuel is $2 per litre or $7.75 per gallon.

Cheers Chris

See less See more
#4 ·
Isn't there a foundry in Australia or New Zealand casting chevrolet heads? Are they still prone to the importation problems? I'd recommend the 3.42 rear gear, your TH350, a 68.5cm tire (that should be 27 inches), a stock torque converter, and a camshaft like the comp cams 260H (12-206-2). Id prefer a roller cam, but I understand your importation problems.

#5 ·
Heads and other chevy stuff hard to find down there, you say!!
Not when I was last there.
Swap meet in Pukekohe had more chevy performance stuff than I've ever seen up here at a meet.
You gotta look around, everything you need is right there in NZ.

And you need to get yourself educated.
Find a book like this.
Or any others to do with rebuilding or hotrodding sbc's.
https://books.google.ca/books?id=G2...ce=gbs_ge_summary_r&cad=0#v=onepage&q&f=false

#14 ·