327 vs 350 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2011, 10:37 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

327 vs 350

Hi guys,

I'm new to chevy engines so this has probably been answered a million times but here goes..

How do you tell a 327 chevy from a 350?

I know you can run the numbers but sometimes the decoders just tell you its a 327 or 350. Is there some easy way to spot the difference or do you actually have to look at the crank and such?

Thanks!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-21-2011, 11:03 AM

What year is it?
Old 09-21-2011, 11:08 AM

I have both a 67 and 69

I know after 68 or 69 they didn't make the 327 anymore
Old 09-21-2011, 11:15 AM
Not Considered a Senior Member

Last photo:

Some 327 and 350`s shared the same casting numbers. So there are other ways you can tell. One way is by the suffix code stamped on the block`s deck on the passengers side front of the block.
It will look like this example:
V1122GHF
Another way is to check the cranks casting numbers.
Since small block parts interchange the year doesn`t make any difference since they are all identical externally.
Old 09-21-2011, 11:15 AM

Ok give me the numbers or look at front and back. At the back of the crank they are different of a 350 and 327
Old 09-21-2011, 11:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleVision
Some 327 and 350`s shared the same casting numbers. So there are other ways you can tell. One way is by the suffix code stamped on the block`s deck on the passengers side front of the block.
It will look like this example:
V1122GHF
Another way is to check the cranks casting numbers.