350/305? timing backfire/carb-what do I check next - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2009, 06:33 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

350/305? timing backfire/carb-what do I check next

Sorry that This is so long. I dont know enough to know what is relevant...

Hi. I am new to all of this. I have been reading automotive books and scanning the internet to figure out what the He## I am doing. Ive had my 1960 chevy truck for a few months now.

Went to visit dear old mom. The idle was fast.. neighbor said - "let me adjust your timing" .. this is when everything went wrong.. Now that I have driven an hour to get home.. Ive noticed:
Truck backfiring through carb.

I decide to try to learn to fix it myself.

A friend said to get a vacuum gauge -"it can diagnose a myriad of things" and that I could set the timing by
getting the highest vacuum from carb idle air/fuel screws then adjust the distributor for highest steady vacuum - the drop it back a bit.
listen for pinging.. - too advanced
sluggish - too retarded
I tried all kinds of combination's - Still backfiring.
I found out later that I shouldnt have turned the "idle speed screw" to get a steady vacuum... I was getting a vacuum of 17

I went out and bought a timing light, tach

I have a 1960 chevy truck - the engine says its a 350 but I could swear the guy said it was a 305. I can't figure out what the numbers on passenger side engine pad mean:
(im0826 4vp). The websites that have serial numbers listed dont have an i in them..

So. I followed directions for a chevy 350. 10 deg BTDC -still backfiring
Checked for highest vacuum/fuel air/timing combo.. still backfiring
I couldn't get the vacuum to stay steady unless I cranked idle speed screw