350 bored .060 over... XE268 cam, I didn't put a CAM BUTTON IN!!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 04:37 PM
Dizturbed One's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, California
Age: 31
Posts: 198
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350 bored .060 over... XE268 cam, I didn't put a CAM BUTTON IN!!!

Is this a major issue?

I didn't know I possibly needed one until I had the entire long block assembled.

I haven't fired it up yet, and would like to know beforehand... I don't want to trash 1200 dollars worth of parts and 100 hours of work and research by forgetting tiny little part that would've only taken a few minutes to put in.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 04:44 PM
NAIRB's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: cimarron, ks
Posts: 1,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you have a flat tappet cam, you don't need a cam button.

If you have a roller cam, you need one to keep the cam from walking.

The design of a flat tappet cam causes the camshaft to thrust to the rear of the block by itself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 04:44 PM
1BAD80's Avatar
The Smell of Nitro in the morn
 
Last wiki edit: How to adjust valves Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mich
Posts: 2,423
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Qt: I don't want to trash 1200 dollars worth of parts and 100 hours of work and research by forgetting tiny little part that would've only taken a few minutes to put in.

YES IT DOES have to be installed if it says it must.
How can you build a motor and not know this.
It's in the instructions on the cam.
Make sure you have a good timing chain cover, not a cheap chrome one. Don't forget to change the distributor gear.
__________________
Luv the smell of NITRO in the morning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 05:10 PM
Dizturbed One's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, California
Age: 31
Posts: 198
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The instructions didn't say anything about it, but several people asked me if I put one in when I told them about the build, so I started to worry about it.

And yeah, I bought a cheap chrome cover, then read bad things about it, so I scrapped the thing and bought a nice one.

It IS a flat tappet cam, and the instructions didn't mention anything about it, so I'm ok?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 05:18 PM
NAIRB's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: cimarron, ks
Posts: 1,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BAD80
Qt: I don't want to trash 1200 dollars worth of parts and 100 hours of work and research by forgetting tiny little part that would've only taken a few minutes to put in.

YES IT DOES have to be installed if it says it must.
How can you build a motor and not know this.
It's in the instructions on the cam.
Make sure you have a good timing chain cover, not a cheap chrome one. Don't forget to change the distributor gear.
A flat tappet camshaft does not have to have a cam button on a small chevy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 05:20 PM
Dizturbed One's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, California
Age: 31
Posts: 198
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thank you for your help guys

i'll take NAIRB's word for it though, although I haven't posted much in the past 8 months or so I've been here, I've seen him solve alot of problems and make alot of really good suggestions, he seems to know what he's doing.

i really appreciate the help, i was worried about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 120
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You do not need a cam button if it is not a roller cam. You are fine. Enjoy your motor. A little bit of paranoia is good when you build an engine, it helps you do things right. But once you got it done have confidence in it and enjoy it. If you stay paranoid that something may always be wrong then it takes all the fun out of things.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 05:25 PM
NAIRB's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: cimarron, ks
Posts: 1,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The reason why you don't need one is because the lobes on a flat tappet cam are tapered. The lifters have a slight conical shape on them, and this causes the lifter to rotate, it also creates a rearward thrust on the cam when it is running.

You can put a cam button on any hydraulic or solid lifter cam if you wish, but it's not necessary to do so. A roller cam, however is a different story because the lobes are not tapered, and of course, a roller cam will not tolerate any walking back and forth as roller lifters don't do well skidding accross the lobe sideways.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2005, 08:28 PM
Dizturbed One's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, California
Age: 31
Posts: 198
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you for your help.

I appreciate that you actually gave me a reason why and didn't just reply yes or no.

That's what I'm here for... To learn.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2008, 03:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 447
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
cam button

SBC with Flat tappet hydraulic or solid lifter does not need a cam button. The camshaft lobes have a very slight side taper ground into them, this causes the flat tappet lifters to spin in their bores reducing wear and also causes a rearward thrust. P.S. I just disassembled a High dollar SBF with roller cam that someone forgot to put the cam gear bolt in. It evidently had ran for about 2 minutes before catastrophic engine failure. This destroyed a set of new edelbrock heads etc. My friend bought the motor for $400.00 for the block. I don't know who assembled the engine but gee, I think a guy would notice something like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2008, 05:02 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,654
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
This thread is 3 years old.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2008, 05:48 AM
CNC BLOCKS NE's Avatar
CNC Blocks Northeast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NORTHEAST
Age: 54
Posts: 1,429
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleVision
This thread is 3 years old.
NICE CATCH!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2010, 08:50 AM
jdhemin's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: council bluffs Ia.
Posts: 41
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
still learnin

these post maybe old but were still learnin the good stuff from before our time on this thread thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
max cam for stock 72 350 exhaust bullheimer Engine 3 04-14-2003 09:15 AM
Alright. One more quick comp lesson 4 me HemmiGremmie Hotrodders' Lounge 13 01-02-2003 07:14 PM
what cam to put in my 396 60velleman Engine 3 05-28-2002 10:27 PM
.060 bored 350 its_all_good Engine 3 04-26-2002 06:51 AM
question on cam & oil pump install chev 350 solowookie Engine 16 04-03-2002 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.