350 build on a budget - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2010, 09:12 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

350 build on a budget

hi i am building an 86 montecarlo LS. i just recently bought a 350(not sure of casting numbers). I am looking for some tricks and cheap ways to increase horsepower. i put a set of 305 heads(354434) because i hear it increases low end power. please leave any tricks you may know. oh and i am new to building engines and such so forgive any ignorance i may show thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2010, 10:25 PM

While the 305 heads will bump up the compression ratio, it will run out of steam pretty early; it won't pull more than around 3500-4000 rpm. I think you can get them machined for bigger valves, to get them to flow better, but if you're going to spend that much money, you might as well get a set of Vortecs and make a lot more power. I'm sure more experienced people will chime in shortly, but things such as headers, good dual exhaust, cam, converter, and especially rear end gears will really wake it up. Also a good dual-plane intake and four barrel carb.
Old 03-24-2010, 01:59 PM
Veteran/Firefighter-EMT-I CRT

get rid of the 434 heads, the compression is not worth the loss of top end, seriously. get a set of vortec heads like these

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/REMAN...item2559763f14