350 chevy motor won't start - electrical - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2013, 01:31 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

350 chevy motor won't start - electrical

Newbie here just startin' work on the old man's 33 ford coupe. Currently has a 350 chevy motor in it. Keep in mind I didn't build or work on these so my knowledge of electrical components are slim to none due to the fact that the wiring diagram is no where to be found. Here's what's goin on.

- Problem started 3 years ago. Pulled off to grab some gas, got back in her, and I had nothing coming from the starter. All electrical worked but when I turned the key over, absolutely nothing. 45 mins later, tried it again and it fired right up. Problem continued on and off over the past couple years.
- Everytime I had the problem, I either had it jumped or bought a new battery and it worked fine. Concern is that battery's were going bad and draining very quickly.
- Starter works fine when tested, has power. Power at alternator. Upgraded batter to increase CCA from 575 to 650. Tested majority of ground locations (hard to find them all due to very tight space) and they have power. Inginition switch has power.
Today I installed new battery, replaced ballast resistor because it was cracked, crossed my fingers and still absolutely nothing when I try to start it. Again, the entire car has power, including the starter, but it's like the car is dead.

Anyone have these issues? Suggestions? Where to go from here?

Thanks,
Tj
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-16-2013, 08:50 AM

Last photo:

Common heat soak problem on your starter solenoid. Here's the fix.
Adding a Remote Starter Solenoid to your Chevy, My Way