350 crate engine into 53 Oldsmobile - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2005, 01:41 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Arrow 350 crate engine into 53 Oldsmobile

Hey there,

I am new to this message board, but have spent a few hours browsing through the old discussions.

I recently purchased a 1953 Oldsmobile 88. It has the stock 303ci V8 and 3 speed transmission.

Currently the engine does not run, and the price of a rebuild kit is staggering.

I was wondering what it would take to drop a new 350 Chevy crate engine in. Can i use the existing motor mounts? Any suggestions on what type transmission i can drop in?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-10-2005, 03:36 PM

Last photo:

engine swap

Using everything for an SBC including the bellhousing and flywheel forward, it should be a fairly straight up swap, since the Olds shared a lot in common with the 53 Chevy chassis. You will need to use Chevy motor mounts and fabricating a mounting location for them on the front crossmember shouldnt be a problem either. The Olds radiator should hook up pretty easily as well.