Hot Rod Forum banner

350 engine overhaul needs guidence

3K views 34 replies 10 participants last post by  J. E. Allison 
#1 · (Edited)
I've got a 350 in my 1980 chevy heavy half ton. I just bought the truck and the engine is getting to be pretty old. I plan on overhauling the truck. I've got a few of the basics done and now I am wanting to do the engine/transmission before I get to much farther. the transmission is a pretty newly rebuilt th350 with lockup torque converter. Has twelve bolt rear end and 3.08 gears. I was going to get a new block but decided to go cheaper with the one it has. As far as I know it is the original block which I would think is a 2 bolt main. This is my first project and engine build. I want it to be slightly more wild than mild. ATLEAST around 325 horsepower and 375 torque. But would prefer more in the 400hp and 450tq range. I like it pretty loud and have a nice thump and rough idle to it. However I want to have somewhat of a guess on my parts and such before I pull the motor and get into it. So assuming it's a two bolt main how much would that affect me making more power in the engine? what should I try and keep the power under to be safe. I plan on doing in this in the next 3 months or so. I want to stay under $2,000 and the cheaper the better. I could go above but would like to stay in budget. Needs to be pretty reliable too. And have it run on pump gas too. I am thinking I will need to get it bored .030 or .040 over. What would be an estimate on the cost of that? Is there any other machine work that I might need/consider? I think I am going to run edelbrock performer rpm heads, camshaft, and intake. Just to know I will have a good combo. Other than that I am not sure what to do and what additional parts are needed and what, if anything, I can reuse. I do have a performer eps intake now that I would like to reuse and save money if I could. As well as a brand new edelbrock 600 carb that I would like to use if only temporarily or just s