350 Engine rebuild - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2003, 07:32 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Cool 350 Engine rebuild

I am new to rebuilding engines. I have a 91 Camaro RS. I am planning on putting in a 350. I am going to be using a '73 350 4 bolt main with a 4bbl carb. I do have help from my dad who has rebuilt engines in the past but he is kinda old school. Sometimes he doesn't do things the way they should be done. But if I think if I do enough research I should be able to tell when he is about to do something that doesn't seem correct. I have a basic understanding of the parts of an engine and what they are for but I want to know how to gain more horsepower. What I mean by this is if I just rebuild the engine boring it .030 and using a 350 rebuild kit will that give me more horsepower? I would be happy getting like 300 to 350 Hp if this is possible. I also read up on the 383 stroker and was thinking about going that route but I read a lot of posts saying to start with the 350 build if this is my first rebuild. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2003, 08:30 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...

Last wiki edit: Crankshaft Coalition Wiki Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

There are a number of ways you can approach this. Build your motor from scratch, by a crate motor from GM that will have a warranty, by a kit and build a stroker or by a crate motor from an aftermarket supplier.