350 sbc to bore, how much? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2012, 11:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350 sbc to bore, how much?

Can i use a oversize block bore of 60 thou to build a high horse power motor (600). i have a motor that needs to be bored to 60 thou. it will be mainly used for the street and sometimes at the strip for a test. i would also like to stroke the 350 to a 434 if possible. The block is 350 h block. any help please.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2012, 11:52 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: update
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: over here
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Better to find another block. Start with the '87-up, they tend to clean up at 20 over. Plus they have provisions for roller lifters.
A 350 at 20 over, with a maximum stroke of 4", makes 406, not 434. A 434 is a 400 bored 30 and given a 4" stroke.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2012, 12:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyholdback
Better to find another block. Start with the '87-up, they tend to clean up at 20 over. Plus they have provisions for roller lifters.
A 350 at 20 over, with a maximum stroke of 4", makes 406, not 434. A 434 is a 400 bored 30 and given a 4" stroke.
thanks, can i not stroke the motor with a stroker kit for beter displacement.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2012, 06:17 AM
zildjian4life218's Avatar
Listen and Learn
 
Last wiki edit: DIY junkyard electrical fan controller
Last journal entry: SBC 305 Twin Turbo
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: WNY/Rochester, New York
Age: 25
Posts: 1,661
Wiki Edits: 7

Thanks: 44
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jouba
thanks, can i not stroke the motor with a stroker kit for beter displacement.
If you had an aftermarket block most definitely. I have never clearanced a stock block for a 4" stroke but I imagine you may run into an issue with how much material you take out.. Cam to crank clearance will also be an issue with a stock block. My machinist just switched his 434ci to a raised cam block because his cam was barely clearing and the base circle was already reduced on it.

Adding a 3.750" stroke in a 350 is pretty common and requires minimal block clearance. Ive clearanced a couple of blocks for these and usually the area just below the pan rails get into the way. I have seen a couple where the bottom of the cylinder can get into the way also. This summer I'm building a 4 bolt 350 roller with a 3.875" stroke. That should be fun to clearance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:43 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: update
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: over here
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jouba
thanks, can i not stroke the motor with a stroker kit for beter displacement.
Putting a stroker kit in a 350 will get you anywhere from 383 to 408 cubic inches. Not that many kits are good for 408 cubes and 600 HP.
Why invest in cubic inches, anyway? A Chinese turbo or 2 from e-bay will get any mild 350 to 600 HP much cheaper than a correctly-built 434. As long as you keep it from ever having any detonation, stock parts can survive, though nearly everyone would do forged pistons to be safe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2012, 05:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
turbo 35o

Yes you right but I am still a old stock guy. i have seen what you guys have in USA, we have attended the SEMA Show last year. (Awesome) and here in South Africa to find a manifold to support a turbo on a 350 is not even a option - none available. i still battle to get by 383 stroker with all the right groceries to run a 12 second quarter mile. best time was a 13.05. maybe the turbo is another option, i have good contacts after the show to import the manifold. thanks for your comments!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2012, 05:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fast EFI

I purchased a FAST EFI at the Nationals in October last year, when we came back to South Africa i immediately installed the EFI on my 383 Stroker and removed the Holly 750 DP. my problem now is that my car is now a full second slower on the quarter mile. With carb previous best is 13.05 and with the EFI first run 13.72 and then a 14.00. any suggestions or is this proof that a carb is still the best?? i can feel the car struggle half way down the Q/mile.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2012, 07:58 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: update
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: over here
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, it doesn't prove a carb is better. It proves you don't yet have the EFI dialed in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2012, 11:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
efi

Thanks that is what i hoped to hear. i still need to sort out the mixtures.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2012, 09:56 AM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,975
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 765
Thanked 1,023 Times in 855 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jouba
Can i use a oversize block bore of 60 thou to build a high horse power motor (600). i have a motor that needs to be bored to 60 thou. it will be mainly used for the street and sometimes at the strip for a test. i would also like to stroke the 350 to a 434 if possible. The block is 350 h block. any help please.
Are there no big block Chevy motors over there? 600 hp with a 454 would be somewhat easier to achieve and should last longer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2012, 10:41 AM
killerformula's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Carburetor
Last journal entry: Clean up
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northeast
Age: 34
Posts: 3,485
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
600 horse on a factory 350 block, pre or post '87 is a grenade. Especially if you're boring it to the limit. The only way I'd attempt that is less bore, and a fill in the block. By the time you do that and worry about all the other associated issues you may as well go aftermarket or big block.

K
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spread Bore VS Square Bore Advise daveh Engine 22 01-05-2012 06:35 PM
Edelbrock square bore to spread bore GUITAR1989 Engine 15 08-01-2011 06:04 AM
spread bore to square bore adaptor? david ahluwalia Engine 11 03-21-2009 06:15 AM
anyone ever able to fit 3.76 bore pistons in a 3.5 bore engine? 74chevyflat Engine 15 05-21-2006 07:58 PM
Spread bore with square bore carb western star Engine 5 10-28-2004 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.