350 sbc build - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2010, 10:36 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

350 sbc build

Hey guys, i looking for information on building a mild 350 sbc, I have a 350 crate motor here is the information i know

-(4) Bolt main block with a (2) piece rear main seal.
-Cast Iron Crank.
-Forged steel connecting rods.
-Cast Pistons, (dished).
-Hydraulic flat tappet cam, (.383� intake / .401� exhaust) and a 112-degree lobe separation.
-Cast Iron Cylinder heads with a 76cc combustion chamber. (Non vortec design)
-8.5:1 compression ratio.

Im not wanting to go all out just yet, being this is my first build, i would like to put on some better heads, and a mild cam, i will go after the pistons later, when i get more time and money. will i run into any problems with the conecting rods and rings due to the higher compression ratio? im going to stick with the stock exhaust manifold (i have been told that headers dont really make any noticable gains, unless you are in the 380hp+ range, is this true?) what heads, cam, lifter, rockers, springs, should i go with? im not looking for a whole lot here, just a litte more than what i have. so far i have put on a 600cfm edelbrock carb with an edelbrock performer intake, and an HEI distributer. aso i was thinking about putting 4.10:1 gears in, do you think this would hurt me? i have a TH350 and im not sure if the 4.10 would put the rpms to high on the high way. my car is a 72 el camino custom, (vin letter H) im not sure how much it weighs though, or how much the wieght would affect my gear choosing. if i had to estimate id say around 3500 lbs any input is helpful. thanks

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement