350 stock camshaft - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350 stock camshaft

Hi, I have a quick question for you SBC guru's. I've searched through all of the old posts and haven't found the answer to my question.

How can I tell if my 350 is made for a hydraulic roller cam? (without dismantling the engine if possible?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and let me know if more info is needed.

Thank you,

Tyler

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:44 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You are pretty much going to have to pull the VCs or intake...but if you tell me the year maybe...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 393
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I dont quite understand what your asking. If you want to know if you have a roller cam in it with out removing the intake, You can remove a valve cover and run the engine. If its a roller cam the push rod wont spin. If it just a regular cam they will spin. Check several of them because you could have some that wont spin due to a lifter worn so that it cant spin. At least thats my story.

Gary
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:51 PM
strikingthematch's Avatar
Pure American Muscle
 

Last journal entry: Still Going
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 688
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
As far as I know if you look down the dis. hole you will see a spyder which holds the lifters in place. Thats not on all blocks but on some I don't know the exact years. Other then that the lifters on later blocks have a flat side on part of the lifter that holds them in place so they can't turn in their bores you might be able to see this on the back lifters in the block. What would be really easy would be to take the mani. off and check.


Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by 454me
I dont quite understand what your asking. If you want to know if you have a roller cam in it with out removing the intake, You can remove a valve cover and run the engine. If its a roller cam the push rod wont spin. If it just a regular cam they will spin. Check several of them because you could have some that wont spin due to a lifter worn so that it cant spin. At least thats my story.

Gary
Thanks for the replies guys,

I will find out what year the block is, I dont have the info handy.

I just want to know if I can put a hydraulic roller cam into this motor.

I DO know that motor has '68 307 heads, intake and 2bbl carb. Does that help?

Thanks,
Tyler
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 07:58 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
9 outta 10 says no factory roller cam but you can retro fit a Comp or other brand.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 08:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What would be involved in the retrofit process?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 08:22 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
$$$$$
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 08:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by NXS
$$$$$
So in other words, it aint worth it! Thank you very much.

I can pretty much assume that it'll have hydraulic flat tappets then....?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 08:44 PM
Siggy_Freud's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 29
Posts: 2,371
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Worth it if you have the dough. Your looking at a new cam, a set of roller lifters, and then all the gear to make them work in your setup.

Looking at 200+ for the cam, 200+ for the lifters, and probably 150-200 for the retrofit kit.

But if they (car manufacturers) went to a roller cam design and havent since gone back you know something is good about them
__________________
Bringing history and technology together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I see the logic, thats forsure. Makes sense, I'm just unsure if the expense is necessary for the application.

Truth is, its not my car, I'm just sourcing info for a brother in law, and he's on a tight budget. He isn't building the 350 for crazy horsepower, he just wants some inproved street performance.

This is getting a bit off topic, but I think he's looking at intake, carb, headers and a cam. Internals other than a cam will be all stock. With these upgrades, in your guys' opinion, is a roller cam/roller lifters worthwhile?

We really appreciate the help and input, thanks a bunch,

Tyler
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:20 AM
strikingthematch's Avatar
Pure American Muscle
 

Last journal entry: Still Going
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 688
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Without the money to reto fit a block i'd have to say no. A roller cam is great it really is and like others have said there is a reason why new engines have them in.
Heck any dyno test will show you what they do. I too am building an engine and have looked at the roller cams. I just can't bring myself to spend that kinda money on them though.

Put it this way I can buy a kit from comp cams for $240 with cam/lifters/timing set and a roller cam will cost over that much just for the cam!
I could then buy over 7 cams at say $80 before before im at the same price as a roller set. Not to metion if you go with a roller you have to buy the full set with cam/resto fit lifters/ spyder/timing set with cam button/ shorter push rods/ springs/ the works.
So in my thinking no without a lot of extra cash just sitting there it's not worth it for a street engine.


Hope that helps

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nail in the coffin. Flat tappet it is! Thank you very much for all of the replies.

Tyler
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:39 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: dallas,tx
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350 stock cam

Quote:
Originally posted by TGSXR
Nail in the coffin. Flat tappet it is! Thank you very much for all of the replies.

Tyler
what are you trying to do with the motor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SK, Canada
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 350 stock cam

Quote:
Originally posted by robertg
what are you trying to do with the motor.
Right now it is a stock 350 in a '68 Chevelle mated with a th350 transmission I believe.

Looking to add a bit more punch to it strictly for the street. Plans include headers, intake, carb, and a cam. Sticking tightly to a small budget.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.