350 turbo tranny / first gear - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2007, 05:02 PM
badriand's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: texas
Posts: 171
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350 turbo tranny / first gear

The other day i put it in first easing out the driveway and noticed that it would not stay in first just pops right back to second. I crawled under the truck and unhooked the column from the shaft and manually pushed it into 1st and the same thing you have to hold it or it pops back into second. Any ideas it is a auto tranny. Thanks guys Guess i should add it runs fine in drive, just if you shift the column all the way down to first it pops backup into 2nd you have to hold the column down to keep it in first.

    Advertisement

Last edited by badriand; 10-11-2007 at 09:01 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2007, 09:42 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,082
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 328
Thanked 99 Times in 95 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by badriand
The other day i put it in first easing out the driveway and noticed that it would not stay in first just pops right back to second. I crawled under the truck and unhooked the column from the shaft and manually pushed it into 1st and the same thing you have to hold it or it pops back into second. Any ideas it is a auto tranny. Thanks guys Guess i should add it runs fine in drive, just if you shift the column all the way down to first it pops backup into 2nd you have to hold the column down to keep it in first.

drop the pan . look at the linkage. I've seen the spring arm that rides on the rooster comb of the shift linkage bent in such a way that it moves the shift linkage into the wrong position
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2007, 10:15 PM
DHMag's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: InCahoots, Texas
Posts: 302
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if you have full length headers, they will touch the linkage when load applied and pop it into 2.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2007, 08:42 AM
badriand's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: texas
Posts: 171
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
drop the pan . look at the linkage. I've seen the spring arm that rides on the rooster comb of the shift linkage bent in such a way that it moves the shift linkage into the wrong position

Yikes, i replaced the pan gasket about 4 months ago. Basically i have been building on this truck and it doesn't go anywhere i have drove it around my block twice in the past 4-5 months (no doors, no hood, no windows etc) sitting on a stool. Basically it was working fine and i haven't done any channel to the frame , i did however drop the vehicle but that was the actual height of the truck the position of the shift linkage was left untouched. Could someting happen internally to the tranny when it is barly driven. Thanks guys for your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 turbo to 400 turbo swap in lemans?? mtmniles Transmission - Rearend 8 01-24-2006 12:40 AM
350 turbo tranny not shifting to 3rd actionphilson Transmission - Rearend 1 11-17-2005 06:22 PM
Shifter Turbo 350 tranny Pcr21688 Transmission - Rearend 0 07-14-2005 08:50 PM
NOVA: Powerglide or Turbo 350? chevy71nova Transmission - Rearend 1 10-13-2003 04:50 PM
turbo 350 Kelgar50 Transmission - Rearend 2 05-31-2003 06:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.