350TH question????? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2006, 08:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350TH question?????

I have plugged the vacuum hose going to my modulater on my 350TH in my drag only car and must shift it manually. My question is, when I stop the car and put the trans in 3rd gear, manually, then drive off slowly, the car seems like it is still in 1st gear, ie- high revs going slow. I thought it would be very sluggish since it was in 3rd gear. I can stop the car, put trans in 1st, drive off slowly and shift it to 2nd then to 3rd, then stop again. Leaving the trans in 3rd, when I start off, it still seems like it is in 1st gear. What do ya'll think ? Is this right?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2006, 09:08 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,864
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 250 Times in 203 Posts
The modulator only determines the shift points. To make it totally manual, you need to modify or replace the valve body. You are not gaining a thing by plugging up the vacuum line.....just making it more difficult to drive.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2006, 09:16 AM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,808
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
The modulator only determines the shift points. To make it totally manual, you need to modify or replace the valve body. You are not gaining a thing by plugging up the vacuum line.....just making it more difficult to drive.
Yep,,,,what Poncho said!!

Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2006, 09:24 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...
 
Last wiki edit: Crankshaft Coalition Wiki Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stupidville, USA
Posts: 1,705
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 11
Thanked 81 Times in 75 Posts
Here is what TCI has to say about vacuum modulators...
http://www.tciauto.com/Products/Comp...modulators.asp
Like Poncho said, you need a few more mods to make your trans fully "manual". I hope you haven't hurt it by plugging the vacuum modulator...
Putting the shifter in 3rd gear, while sitting still, will do nothing. The trans only sees line pressure when the vehicle is moving. The line pressure needs to be at a certain point before the trans will up-shift to 2nd or 3rd. This is why it starts out in first and then up-shifts to 2nd. The trans will automatically downshift as you slow down so it is always in "first gear" when you start rolling.
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
383 stroker 73monte Engine 11 05-07-2014 08:08 AM
Question about vehical weight and engine question Thuggishruggish3000 Engine 12 03-24-2011 05:22 AM
question about a previouse question elrod1030 Engine 6 03-10-2010 07:35 AM
Switching to 200R Tranny question Gundarak Transmission - Rearend 4 12-05-2003 08:00 PM
nitrous 69BiRd Engine 2 11-28-2003 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.