351C Detonation Help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 01:46 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

351C Detonation Help

Hi All... First post, as I'm new to the Rod scene and found this forum.

I just picked up a 31 Ford that has a 351C bored and stroked and I'm facing some detonation problems above 3K rpms. The engine was completely built up in late 2011 according to the receipts I received when I purchased the car.

I've turned back the initial timing and even went below 10* intial with all in at 30* and have seen no change at all (it was initially set to 12* initial). Ignition is MSD electronic across the board, but I'm beginning to think this isn't all timing related.

I'm running 93 Octane, and the engine is "supposed" to have 10.5:1 compression, it has a relatively mild cam in it from Doug Hebert Performance.

Advertised Duration: 275/285
Duration @ .050: 215/225
Lift .500/.530
Lobe Center: 112c

In addition I am running CJ steel 4V open chamber heads... Hopefully some of this information is helpful, it's always difficult troubleshooting stuff like this, and I could really use some suggestions.

I understand engines, but I am certainly no expert and I can only go off the information that I received with the car at this point. I'm beginning to wonder, if the smaller cam, open chamber heads and the 10.5:1 compression all together aren't happy even with 93 octane?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-24-2013, 02:26 PM

you need to turn timing back until it quits pinging and then go forward with repairs/tune,,,
get some racing gas if you have to.may have a carbon problem/cooling system/too lean(vacuum leak),,,,,